Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Tully Filmus Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MAvR/KM
Date: 3 Dec 1993

Biographical History

Russian American Jewish realist painter, portrait artist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1928 to 1967, the Tully Filmus Papers comprises correspondence, artwork, and memorabilia of the Russian American realist painter (b. 1908). While reflecting the professional career of the Jewish artist, the collection also illuminates Filmus' involvement with the Jewish community, which was both the subject and audience for much of his work.

Incoming letters and miscellaneous printed material are incorporated into the Correspondence Subject Files (Boxes 1-2), which are arranged alphabetically. Correspondents include artists (Emidio Angelo, Henry Cooper, Francis Criss, Seena Donneson, Maxim Gottlieb, William Gropper, Elliot Offner, Anton Refregier); authors (Harry Kurnitz, Solomon Lipp, Stephen Peck, Paul Zucker); conductor Leopold Stokowski; patrons (Lester Avnet, Cyrus Brin, Thomas E. Dewey, Harry Freud, Max Fuchs, (Mrs.) Michael Halperin, Barbara Henry, Ted Lewis, Harry Merdinger, Myron Minskoff, Jack Nordiff, Ben and Zdenka Segall, Meyer Shein, Ian Starr, Boris Tarna); and theatrical personalities (Norman Bel Geddes, Arlene Francis). Organizational correspondence encompasses art galleries and museums (American Contemporary Art Gallery, Art Institute of Chicago, Carnegie Institute, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, City Art Museum of St. Louis, Toledo Museum of Art, Whitney Museum of American Art); community and religious groups (Children's Astham Research Institute, Community Synagogue, New York Psychoanalytic Institute, North Shore Community Art Center, Temple Beth-el of Great Neck, Women's American Organization for Rehabilitation Through Training) educational institutions (American Artists School, Cooper Union, Educational Alliance, Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and professional organizations (American Academy of Arts and Letters, American Artists' Congress, Artists Equity Association, Audubon Artists).

Artwork includes technical notes on painting and a North Shore Community Arts Center program cover featuring a Filmus drawing of Charles Dickens. Articles and reviews, clippings, exhibition catalogs and invitations (1940s-1960s), and various other printed materials constitute Memorabilia.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Angelo, 1903-
Donneson, Seena.
Filmus, Tully, 1908-1998.
Freud, Harry, 1909-1968.
Gropper, William, 1897-1977.
Kurnitz, Harry.
Lipp, Solomon.
Peck, Stephen Rogers, 1912-
Refregier, Anton, 1905-
Stokowski, Leopold, 1882-1977.
Zucker, Paul, 1889-1971.

Corporate Bodies

ACA Galleries.
American Artists' Congress.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Portrait painters -- United States.
Portrait painting -- United States -- 20th century.
Realism in art.
Russian Americans.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Invitations.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tully Filmus Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Family Correspondence

Correspondence-Subject Files

Artwork

Memorabilia

Inventory