Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: Dec 1978

Biographical History

First established in 1943, Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc., is a trade independent book publisher in the United States, particularly strong in self-help and how-to titles.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records is arranged in eight categories.

Correspondence is made up of letters both to and from Fell concerning business. General files is comprised of his business associates. Clippings and Advertising contain promotional material. Published material -- Other and Published material are composed of books, transcripts, and rough drafts of books. Memorabilia is composed of such items as address books, photographs, and a gag award. Business records and apparatus contains corporate stock ledgers and Fell's corporate seal.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order. General files are in alphabetical order. The remaining material is in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of several important American publishers, including Grove Press and Street and Smith. Please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Fell, Frederick Victor, 1910-

Corporate Bodies

Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc., -- Archives.

Subjects

Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederick Fell, 1967-1986.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

General files

Clippings

Advertising

Published material - other

Published material

Memorabilia

Business records and apparatus

Inventory