Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Quentin P. Gore Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Dec 1978

Revision history:
26 Jun 2008	converted to EAD (MRC)

Biographical History

Quentin P. Gore was an American journalist and editor of the Chicago Sun-Times. He was also the author of The Chicago Sun-Times type and makeup manual. (1964)

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Quentin P. Gore Papers comprise four series. Miscellaneous contains a movie editing kit. Published material contains books pertaining to newspaper publishing as well as issues of Linotype News, a magazine for those in the printing field. Subject files contains mainly correspondence about the Chicago Sun-Times, a newspaper edited by Gore. Writings contains volumes of Gore's Typographical and makeup manual as well as a scrapbook of clippings of his column, "The Axis on the Air."

Arrangement

Each series is arranged alphabetically by type (Published material), topic (Subject files), or title (Writings).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search Libraries Search for these related materials.

Subject Headings

Persons

Gore, Quentin P. Archives.

Associated Titles

Chicago sun-times.

Subjects

Journalists -- United States.
Makeup (Printing)
Newspaper editors -- United States.
Newspapers, Sections, columns, etc.
Printing -- Style manuals.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Newspaper columns.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Quentin P. Gore Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Miscellaneous

Published material

Subject files

Writings

Inventory