Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Burges Green Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DW
Date: 4 Apr 1980

Biographical History

Burges Green (1912-1981) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Green was born June 16, 1912 and was the nephew of U.S. Senator Theodore Green of Rhode Island. Green worked for the Providence Journal as editorial cartoonist until 1970. He also illustrated "American Literature in Parody: A Collection of Parody, Satire and Literary Burlesque of American Writers Past and Present" (Twayne 1955)

Green died in June 1981.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Burges Green Cartoons consist entirely of editorial cartoons documenting national, international and local politics.

The Cartoons series contains approximately 4,845 original editorial cartoons from 1949 to 1970 and one proof.

Items typically measure 12 1/4" x 17 1/2". Green worked in ink, primarily on Craftint paper. Traces of pencil are visible; captions and date information appear in blue pencil. Green's style emphasized thin lines and little shading; a limited number of cartoons feature crayon shading.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Green, Burges.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Stalin, Joseph, 1879-1953 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Providence Journal Company.

Associated Titles

Providence journal.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Burges Green Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Providence Journal Company, 1970.

Table of Contents

Cartoons

Inventory