Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Norma Kidd Green Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jan 2010

Biographical History

Norma Kidd Green (1893-1975) was an American author.

A graduate of Beatrice High School in 1911 and the University of Nebraska in 1915, Green was an accomplished writer. Among her publications are a biography of early American educator Jane Andrews and Iron Eye's Family, about the children of Omaha chief Iron Eye (Joseph LaFlesche). Kidd married Roy Melvin Green in 1919 and had four children: Mary Elizabeth (Betty), Nancy Josephine (Nan), William Earl (Bill) and Thomas Franklin (Tom).

Green was deeply interested in the education of women, the lives of Native Americans, and in promoting the habits of life-long learning. She is well known for her Biography by Books in which she set out to portray her own life as a narrative informed by books, particularly those works that were important in her childhood; many of these books are included in the collection. In 1952, Green gave a copy of her story to each of her three living children, and it has since been revised and passed down along the "Green-Genes." This book provides a narrative of Norma Green's life, including the death of her son Bill in World War II and her focus on foreign affairs, activism, and her renewed efforts on becoming a teacher.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norma Kidd Green Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, printed materials, and writings.

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence with the American Foundation for the Blind, Nebraska City School for the Blind, and the Nebraska State Historical Society.

Memorabilia includes diaries, journals, photographs, scrapbooks and other items. Of interest is Green's commencement program from Beatrice High School.

Printed materials is subdivided into writings by Green, by others, and by unknown authors. The majority of these are books that were important in Green's childhood, which she describes in her Biography by Books. While some of the books predate Green's lifetime, these are books that have been passed down through her family and are relevant to her work and character.

Writings comprises typed and handwritten manuscripts of various articles, essays, etc written by Green. Of special interest are three editions of her Biography by Books, research for her book Iron Eye's Family, and manuscripts for a history of the Young Women's Christian Association of the University of Nebraska, Green's alma mater.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Memorabilia is sorted first alphabetically by type or topic. then chronologically. Printed materials are subdivided into writings by Green, by others, and by unknown authors. Within these sections, items are sorted alphabetically by author and title. Writings are sorted alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Additional Norma Kidd Green material is available at the Nebraska State Historical Society, including the LaFlesche Family Papers collected by Green. See also the Norma Kidd Green Papers at the Smith College Special Collections.

Subject Headings

Persons

Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888.
Andrews, Jane, 1833-1887.
Arnold, Sarah Louise, 1859-1943.
Gilbert, Charles B. (Charles Benajah), 1855-1913.
Green, Norma Kidd.
LaFlesche, Joseph, 1822-1889.

Corporate Bodies

American Foundation for the Blind.
Nebraska State Historical Society.

Subjects

Children's literature -- 19th century.
Children's literature, American -- Bio-bibliography.
Women authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Research notes.

Occupations

Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norma Kidd Green Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Thomas F. Green, 2000.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed materials

Writings

Inventory