Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Horace Gregory Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jun 1988

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Horace Gregory Papers comprise 26 archival boxes of material and include a Correspondence-Subject File, Writings and Memorabilia. A considerable proportion of this collection refers to Gregory's wife, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, Marya Zaturenska, with much of the correspondence addressed to both parties, and some of the writings being collaborative efforts.

The Correspondence-Subject File is arranged alphabetically in 15 archival boxes, and includes biographical and family material as well as business and personal letters. The correspondence which is of greatest depth and duration includes letters from William Rose Benet, Winifred Bryher, Eleanor Clark, Malcolm Cowley, E. E. Cummings, Hilda Doolittle, Richard Eberhart, James Farrell, Dudley Fitts, John Gould Fletcher, Joseph Freeman, Robert Hillyer, Raymond E. F. Larsson, Norman Holmes Pearson, James Putnam, Muriel Rukeyser, Evelyn Scott, Winfield Townley Scott, John Sweeney, Allen Tate, M. B. Thornton, Louis Untermeyer, T. C. Wilson, and Morton Zabel. With the exception of an odd carbon copy or two and an occasional letter which was written but never sent, there is almost no outgoing correspondence. The last box (15) of correspondence contains unsolicited mail which has been divided by content into literary, political, or miscellaneous, and is arranged alphabetically within those categories.

Writings has been divided according to type (i.e. books, essays, poetry, etc.), and person who produced them, such that within each category are the works by Gregory, followed by those of Marya Zaturenska, and finally those which were collaborative projects. Writings includes book manuscripts, with several drafts of Gregory's Dorothy Richardson: An Adventure in Self-Discovery and his autobiographical work, The House on Jefferson Street. Among Miss Zaturenska's Writings are a series of journals which were produced between 1932 and 1960.

The Memorabilia includes photographs and clippings.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Benét, William Rose, 1886-1950.
Bryher, 1894-1983.
Clark, Eleanor, 1913-1996.
Cowley, Malcolm, 1898-1989.
Cummings, E. E. (Edward Estlin), 1894-1962.
Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005
Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.
Fitts, Dudley, 1903-1968.
Fletcher, John Gould, 1886-1950.
Freeman, Joseph, 1897-1965.
Gregory, Horace, 1898-1982.
H. D. (Hilda Doolittle), 1886-1961.
Hillyer, Robert, 1895-1961.
Larsson, Raymond Ellsworth, 1901-1991.
Pearson, Norman Holmes, 1909-1975.
Putnam, James.
Rukeyser, Muriel, 1913-1980.
Scott, Evelyn, 1893-1963.
Scott, Winfield Townley, 1910-1968.
Sweeney, James Johnson, 1900-1986.
Tate, Allen, 1899-1979.
Thornton, M. B.
Untermeyer, Louis, 1885-1977.
Wilson, T. C.
Zabel, Morton Dauwen, 1901-1964.
Zaturenska, Marya, 1902-1982.

Associated Titles

New letters in America.
New masses.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
Literature -- History and criticism.
Poetry, Modern -- 20th century.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Horace Gregory Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Table of Contents

Family correspondence

Correspondence-subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory