Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Frederick Hale Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Mar 1967

Biographical History

Frederick Hale (1874-1963) was an American lawyer and United States Senator from Maine formore than thirty years.

Hale was born in Detroit, Michigan, into a political family. His mother was the daughter, wife and mother of United States senators and his father, Eugene Hale, served in the Senate from 1881 to 1911. His maternal grandfather, Zachariah Chandler, was also a member of the Senate. Hale attended preparatory schools in Lawerenceville, New Jersey and Groton, Massachusetts and graduated from Harvard College in 1896. In 1896 and 1897, he attended Columbia Law School. He was admitted to the bar and commenced practice in Portland, Maine in 1899. A conservative Republican and U.S. Senator from Maine from 1917-1941, Hale served on the Senate Appropriations Committee and the Naval Affairs Committee. He never married.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick Hale Papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence includes incoming, correspondence and outgoing correspondence arranged alphabetically by the name of the correspondent. Manuscripts contains two unidentified manuscripts. Published material includes a newspaper clipping about Mr. Hale and a speech by him.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to politics, government, and public administration. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Beveridge, Albert Jeremiah, 1862-1927.
Chavez, Dennis, 1888-1962.
Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933.
Early, Stephen T. (Stephen Tyree), 1889-1951.
Edge, Walter E. (Walter Evans), 1873-1956.
Ellender, Allen J., 1890-1972.
Farley, James A. (James Aloysius), 1888-1976.
Hale, Frederick, 1874-1963.
Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Hughes, Charles Evans, 1862-1948.
Johnson, Hiram, 1866-1945.
Kellogg, Frank B. (Frank Billings), 1856-1937.
Lejeune, John Archer, 1867-1942.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1850-1924.
McCormick, Medill, 1877-1925.
McCumber, Porter J. (Porter James), 1856-1933.
Newberry, Truman Handy, 1864-1945.
Ransdell, Joseph E. (Joseph Eugene), 1858-1954.
Roberts, Kenneth Lewis, 1885-1957.
Roosevelt, Kermit, 1889-1943.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.
Taft, Robert A. (Robert Alphonso), 1889-1953.
Vandenberg, Arthur H. (Arthur Hendrick), 1884-1951.

Corporate Bodies

Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )

Subjects

Legislators -- United States.

Places

Maine -- Politics and government -- 1865-1950.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1901-1953.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick Hale Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory