Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Abraham Harriton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Mar 1997

Biographical History

American Jewish painter. Born in Bucharest, Rumania.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1914 to 1970, the Abraham Harriton Papers comprises correspondence, artwork and memorabilia of the Rumanian-born American Jewish painter. Documenting his professional life, the collection not only illuminates Harriton's growth and development as an artist, but also reflects his political orientation amidst the turbulence of the depression.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-Subject Files include both incoming and outgoing letters and other material relating to individuals as well as organizations. Correspondents include fellow artists (Isabel Bishop, Sidney Dickinson, Philip Evergood, Marie Zoe Greene, Hans Hofmann, Leon Kroll, Ross Moffett, Katherine Nash, Raphael Soyer, Harwood Steiger, Abraham Walkowitz, Max Weber); art critics and authors (Bernard Berenson, A.L. Chanin, Howard Devree, Edward Alden Jewell, Peter Neagoe, Harry Salpeter); and patrons (Edith Halpert, Joseph H. Hirshhorn, Alexander Z. Kruse, A. Philip McMahon, Henry I. Riker, Ralph E. Samuel). Organizational correspondence encompasses gallery affiliations (ACA Gallery, Anderson Galleries, Garelick's Gallery); museums (Art Institute of Chicago, Carnegie Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art, National Academy of Design, Whitney Museum of American Art); and professional organizations (An American Group, Audubon Artists, National Institute of Arts and Letters, National Society of Painters in Casein, Inc., Provincetown Art Association).

Artwork includes a single original watercolor sketch and reproductions, both printed and photographic, of Harriton's paintings. In addition, two scrapbooks containing reproductions of Harriton's work, writings, clippings about the artist, and a pencil sketch may also be found among these materials. Arranged by subject, Writings encompass both Harriton's artistic philosophy and painting technique.

Photographs and printed material, including clippings (1914-1964) and exhibition catalogs, invitations and announcements (1915-1968) constitute Memorabilia.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Berenson, Bernard, 1865-1959.
Bishop, Isabel, 1902-
Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Fabri, Ralph, 1894-
Harriton, Abraham, 1893-1986.
Hofmann, Hans, 1880-1966.
Kazan, Elia.
Kroll, Leon, 1884-1974.
Neagoe, Peter
Robinson, Edward G., 1893-1973.
Soyer, Raphael, 1899-1987.

Corporate Bodies

Whitney Museum of American Art.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Artists, Jewish -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Romanian Americans.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Press releases.
Scrapbooks.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Abraham Harriton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject Files

Artwork

Writings (by subject)

Memorabilia

Inventory