Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Henry J. Hart Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Nov 2019

Biographical History

Henry J. Hart (dates unknown) was a real estate agent and estate executor in Syracuse, New York in the early 20th century. He is listed in Jackson's Real Estate Directory, 1912-1913 edition, as having offices at 68 Wieting Block. He served as the city's Commissioner of Deeds from 1911-1913 (Proceedings of the Common Council of the City of Syracuse, FY 1911, p. 13), and according to The Real Estate Magazine, Volume 4 (Nov 1914), p. 78 was a delegate to the state's first convention of real estate businessmen. His name also appears in the U.S. Patent Registry as part owner of a patent for an automatic car brake (US Pat. No. 661,435, filed Feb 20, 1900).His wife, Adeline Hart, worked along side Hart in his real estate business.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry J. Hart Collection is separated into Hart's papers and those of others.

The first series consists of Henry J. Hart's business records, the clients for whom he was executor, and his personal financial accounts and correspondence. In the business records subseries, the contracts folders consist of contracts conducted between a second part and either Hart himself or his wife Adeline.

The second series consist of contracts between other, that is individuals not Hart or Adeline. Also within this series are a few blueprints and urban development plans created by unknown companies.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by name or type of material and within each folder chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hart, Henry J.

Subjects

Property.
Real estate business -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Checks (bank checks)
Contracts.
Correspondences.
Property records.
Tax returns.

Occupations

Real estate agent.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry J. Hart Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.

Table of Contents

Henry J. Hart

Others

Inventory