Ralph Coolidge Henry Papers An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Return to finding aids search

Ralph Coolidge Henry Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: DRC
Date: Feb 1993

Revision history:

Feb 2009

converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator:

Henry, Ralph Coolidge

Title:

Ralph Coolidge Henry Papers

Dates:

1940-1952

Quantity:

18 linear ft.

Abstract:

Correspondence, subject files and architectural plans for Henry projects and clients, such as Colby Junior College, Pine Manor, Boston, Philips Andover Academy, and the Nevada St. School in Newton, Massachusetts. Henry worked with landscape architect Guy Lowell.

Language:

English

Repository:

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ralph Coolidge Henry was an American architect who worked primarily in New England. Henry worked with landscape architect Guy Lowell.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph Coolidge Henry Papers consist of correspondence, subject files and architectural plans for Henry projects and clients, such as Colby Junior College, Pine Manor, Boston, Philips Andover Academy, and the Nevada St. School in Newton, Massachusetts.

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection remains in original order; inventory is a simple box list supplemented by an alphabetical list of projects created by Special Collections Research Center staff.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

4/15/22: Rolls 2 and 3 of the Sargent Estate material are closed for conservation and not available to researchers until the end of May.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the collections of a number of notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Henry, Ralph Coolidge -- Archives.

Subjects

Architectural contracts.
Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Specifications.
Architecture -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Dwellings -- Design and construction.
Housing -- Design and construction.
Schools -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Photographs.
Sketches.
Tracings.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph Coolidge Henry Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Correspondence-subject files

Books and Pamphlets

Specifications

Miscellaneous

Index by project

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files

Box 1

Office of Price Administration

Box 1

Office of Price Administration

Personal

Box 1

Pangburn Report, Henry, R.C.

Box 1

200 Church Street, Henry, R.C.

Box 1

New England Trust Company

Box 1

Newspaper Clipping on Traffic Problems

Box 1

Newton National Bank

Box 1

Framing (Pencil Drawing and Measurements)

Box 1

Fiberglass

Box 1

Aerial Photos, New Hampshire November 1946

Box 1

G.I. Data

Box 1

M.I.T. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "Levenburg" Model Tenement, Lower East Side, New York City (Reports) 1938

Box 1

General Correspondence (Business)

Box 1

Correspondence (Outgoing)

Box 1

Cost Data

Box 1

Current

Colby Junior College

Box 1

Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioners

Box 1

Wheeler. W.K. **** School Equipment

Box 2

Correspondence, Drawings, Pamphlets, Clippings

Box 2

Specs

Box 2

H. Leslie Sawyer

Box 2

Various Buildings

Box 2

Correspondence

Box 2

Garage Dormitory Bids and Tabulation

Box 2

Concrete and Monolithic Construction

Box 2

Bradford, Robert F.

Box 2

Traffic, Boston (see also Harvey, C.W.) (2 folders)

Box 2

Swimming Pool, Babson Institute

Box 2

Addresses, Profession List

Box 2

Architects

Box 2

Architect's Fees

Miscellaneous

Box 2

Miscellaneous 1942-1946 (2 folders)

Box 2

Small Drawings

Box 3

Miscellaneous 1952

Box 3

Programs (Church, Drama, Art)

Box 3

Miscellaneous 1947

Box 3

Rawson, George E.

Box 3

Recreation

Box 3

Photos, Aerials (St. Paul, Minnesota) 1946 October

Box 3

Room of the Month Ideas, American Standard

Box 3

State Service Build Commission, St. Paul Minnesota (3 folders)

Box 3

Specification for Alteration, 277 Mass. Ave, Cambridge, Mass.

Box 3

Specification for Plumbing, Library, Babson Park Mass.

Box 3

Specification, fragments undated undated

Box 3

Mt. Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge, Mass., Addenda to General Specs, Alteration to Story Chapel

Box 4

Shawmut Bank

Box 4

Spear, Abbott

Box 4

Shurbert, Fred

Box 4

Specification

Box 4

Checking List

Specification Notes

Box 4

8. Stone Work

Box 4

25. Asphalt Tile

Box 4

29 Painting

Memorabilia

Box 4

Large Post Cards, White Mountain, N.H.

Box 4

U.S. Trust Company

Box 4

Waterproofing

Box 4

Thayer, William G. Jr.

See also United Nations.

Box 4

Time Schedules

Box 4

United Nations

Box 4

Walton's Restaurant, School St., Boston, Mass.

Box 4

Walton's, Tony Malfa's Notes

Box 4

Walton, Paul

Box 4

Nazarene College, Dr. Samuel Young

Box 5

War Vets Memorial, news clippings

Box 5

Receipts, Financial Accounts

Box 5

Statements of Financial Condition

Box 5

Professional Statements

Box 5

Pine Manor, Port of Boston

Box 5

Office 1946

Box 5

Office 1947

Box 5

Office Miscellaneous

Box 5

Correspondence and Miscellaneous Subject Material 1952 (2 folders)

Box 5

Photographs, New York County Courthouse Foley Square, New York, New York; architect Guy Lowell

Box 5

Photographs, Grosse Pointe Yacht Club, Grosse Pointe, Mich.; architects Lowell and/or Henry

Box 5

Photographs, Plant, Morton, F., Groton, Conn.; architects Guy Lowell & R.C. Henry

Box 5

Photographs, Nevada Street School, Newtonville, Mass.; architects Ralph Coolidge Henry 1934-1935

Box 5

Photographs, Miscellaneous

Box 5

Magazine clippings

Box 6

Architect contract

Box 6

Massachusetts State Association of Architects

Box 6

Forms (2 folders)

Box 6

Daily Planner/ Calendar 1946, 1947 (3 items)

Box 6

Personal Notebook 1946

Books and Pamphlets

Box 7

Bethlehem Manual of Steel Construction / Bethlehem Steel Co., Bethlehem, Pa. 1934

Box 7

War Emergency Powers of Massachusetts / Emergency Public Works Commission, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts January, 1945

Box 7

Specifications for the Alteration to Munro Hall / Eastern Nazarene College, Wallaston Park Quincy, Mass

Box 7

Preliminary Data, Inscriptions and Tests - Sect. 1-0 / Stevens Master Specifications for Architects and Builders, Stevens, Frank B. Jr. 1932

Box 7

Construction of the Court House Invitation to Bid, Form of Bid, Contract and Specification and Form of Bond / The Court House Board, New York County May 1917

Box 8

Specifications for the Construction of the U.S.H.A.-Aided Housing Project MASS 2-2 in the South Boston District of the City of Boston, Massachusetts, Henry and Richmond, architects / Boston Housing Authority Sept 25, 1939

Box 8

Some Statues of Boston (463)/ Forbes, Allan and Eastman, Ralph M., State Street Trust Co. 1946

Box 8

Catalogue of the Christian Science Publishing Society / The Christian Science Publishing Society Feb. 1952

Box 8

Alderman (Mayor) City of Newton / Mayor, Aldermen and Departments and Boards 1944-1945

Box 8

Lakes Region of New Hampshire / The Lakes Region Association, Laconia, N.H. undated

Box 8

Year Book and By-Laws of the Parish of the Grace Church in the City of Newton, Diocese of Massachusetts -458 / Grace Church, Newton 1935-1936 undated

Box 9

Catalogue of Works on Christian Science / Eddy, Mary Baker

Box 9

Babson Park, Babson Institute of Business Administration 1952-1953

Box 9

Some Examples from the Work of the Office of R. Clipston Sturgis, Architect 120 Boylston Street, Boston, Mass.

Box 9

Solar Ephemeris and Polaris Tables / C.L. Berger & Sons, Inc., Roxbury, Boston, Mass. 1950

Box 9

Course catalog, Boston University Evening Division / Boston Real Estate Board and the Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Appraisers August 1951

Box 9

Minimum Construction Requirements for New Dwellings Located in State of New Hampshire / Federal Housing Administration Concord, N.H. May 15, 1938

Box 9

The Bay State Builder / Associated General Contractors of Massachusetts September, 1947

Box 9

Presidents' Report: The War Record of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology - 461, Cambridge, Massachusetts 1945

Box 9

Laws Relating to the Erection, Alteration , Inspection and use of Buildings / Dept. of Public Safety, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts (2 copies)

Box 9

Board of Registration of Architects / Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1943, 1946

Box 9

The New Hampshire Historical Society, Concord, New Hampshire 1940

"News"

Box 9

Eastman Kodak Company, Architectural Record Sept. 1945, Feb. 1946

Box 9

Bay State Architect Feb. 1952

Box 9

A Guide Trip Through the Minnesota State Capitol

Specifications

Henry and Richmond

Box 9

Plumbing Specifications for a House for Mrs. Randolph Frothingham, Brookline, Mass

Box 9

Heating Specifications, Frothingham House

Henry & Richmond Architexts; Barber Company Engineers

Box 9

Specification for Heating and Ventilating Apparatus for Bank and Building 99-101 Newbury Street Boston, MA for New England Trust Company

Henry & Richmond

Box 9

Electric Specifications for the Back Bay Branch Offices of the New England Trust Company at Nos. 99-101 Newbury Street, Boston MA (2 copies)

Box 9

City of Newton, MA Public Buildings Dept. Invitation to Contractors for Bids for the Erection of a New Schoolhouse, etc (2 copies)

Henry, Ralph Coolidge

Box 9

Specifications for a House for Mrs. Warren S. Kilburn at W. Newton, MA

Schwamb, Theodore

Box 9

Specification for Erection and Completion of "Thesco" Homes from the Drawings and Details

Ralph Coolidge Henry

Box 9

Specification for Benvenue Street Residence for Tenacre at Wellesley, Massachusetts

Box 9

Fragments of table of Table of Contents [no building name]

Miscellaneous

Box 9

Map, Port of Boston, Boston, Mass. undated

Index by project

Albiani Building, Massachusetts Ave. and Pearl St. Cambridge, MA; Architect: Henry
- 1 drawing
- 13 photos of drawings
Ahlers Association Club House, Andover MA; Architect: Lowell (1921)
- 38 tracings and blueprints
Babson Institute, Library Building; Architect: G. Marlowe (1924, 1936)
- 7 linens
- 22 blueprints
- 1 tracing
Babson Institute, Map Room (1940)
- 7 blueprints
- 4 linens
- 1 tracing
Babson Institute, Swimming Pool Building; Architect: Henry (1947)
- 1 blueprint
- 3 tracings
Baker, William B. Esq. house, West Newton, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond
- 19 tracings
Boston Housing Authority, housing project, Charlestown, MA; Architect: John M. Gray (1939)
- 3 blueprints
Boston Housing Authority, housing project, South Boston, MA
- 26 blueprints
- 24 linens
- 42 tracings
- 54 "Daily Report" sketches
- 10 photos of blueprints
- 1 sketch
Bullock, Hugh, house Andover MA; Architect: Lowell (1924)
- 22 tracings
Chilton Club, Boston, MA
- 72 blueprints
Coe, W.R., alterations of barn planting fields, Long Island, NY; Architect: Lowell (1917)
- 2 blueprints, poor condition
Colby Junior College, dorms and garage, New London, NH; Architect: Henry (1947)
- 3 layout sketches
- 1 negative of layout sketch
- 69 blueprints
- 21 linens
- 5 tracings
- 11 photo Reproductions of sketches
Conant, H.N., house and garden plans, Dedham, MA; Architect: Henry in association with William G. Thayer (1947)
- 15 tracings and blueprints
Crowninshield, Francis B., Marblehead, MA; Architect: Lowell
- 29 blueprints
- 6 tracings
- 14 linens
Dana Hall School, Pine Manor and Westlea Hall Wellesley, MA; Architect: Lowell and Henry
- 83 blueprints
- 17 linens
- 66 tracings
Dana Hall School, Play House Wellesley, MA
- 48 blueprints
- 1 linen
Eastern Nazarene College, Munro Hall Wollaston, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond
- 2 blueprints
- 3 tracings
Eliot Congregational Church, Newton, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1941)
- 11 blueprints
- 5 photos of blueprints
- 11 tracings
Far Horizon, house and garden
- 1 tracing
- 1 linen
Frothingham, Ralph, Brookline, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1959)
- 33 blueprints
- 7 tracings
- 5 linens
Grace Church, Reredos Newton, MA; Architect: Henry (1935)
- 3 blueprints
Grosse Pointe Yacht Club, Grosse Pointe Shores, MI; Architect: Henry and Richmond
- Roll 1: 52 blueprints
- Roll 2: 37 blueprints
Henry, Richard Esq., house, Wellesley, MA; Architect: Henry
- 2 linens
HUB Motor Car Co. (George Kulassian, owner), 1283 Washington St., Boston, MA
- 22 blueprints
- 4 linens
Jewell, Theodore E. Esq., house Newton, MA; Architect: Henry
- 4 linens
Kennedy, Mrs. William J., Brookline, MA
- 23 blueprints
- 6 tracings
- 7 sketches
Mantles, misc.; Architect: Henry and Lowell
- 26 linens
Martin, Gustav, garage, Waban, MA; Architect: Henry (1921)
- 8 tracings
- 2 blueprints
- 7 linens
Massachusetts School of Art; Architect: Henry and Richmond
- Roll 1: 12 blueprints of heating and vents, plumbing, and electrical
- Roll 2: 25 tracings and blueprints, Misc.
- Roll 3: 30+ misc. blueprints, tracings, linens; poor condition
McLanathan, Frank W., house and gardens, Andover, MA; Architect: Lowell (1924)
- 16 linens
- 5 blueprints
- 9 tracings
Mid-Manhattan Engineering Corp., House B; Architect: Richmond
- 3 linens
Misc. pictorial
- Watercolors of light fixtures; sketch of Back Bay Station, Boston MA; John W. Weeks Junior High School; more
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1946)
- 1 blueprint
- 1 tracing
Nevada Street School, Newton, MA; Architect: Henry (1934)
- 55 linens
- 1 tracing
New England Trust Co. branch offices, Newberry Street, Boston, MA
- 22 linens
- 12 small blueprints of furniture
- 1 tracing
Oak Hill Trust, house, Newton MA, Richmond
- 2 blueprints
- 6 linens
Old Harbor Village, housing project; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1937)
- 2 blueprints
- 1 tracing
Phillips Andover Academy, Andover Memorial Tower; Architect: Lowell (1922)
- 43 tracings
- 5 linens
Phillips Andover Academy, Samuel F. B. Morse Hall; Architect: Lowell (1927)
- Roll 1: 58 blueprints
- Roll 2: 19 linens and 32 tracings
- Roll 3: 8 linens, 83 tracings, 5 blueprints
Piping Rock Club, Locust Valley, Long Island, NY; Architect: Lowell
- 3 tracings
Plant, Morton F., garden, Groton, CT; Architect: Lowell (1915)
- 14 linens
- 6 tracings
- 8 drawings
- 26 reproductions of negatives and sketches
Red Hook, houses Brooklyn, NY
- 2 blueprints
Sargent, Miss Alice, alterations to "Holm Lea," Brooklyn, NY
- 3 blueprints [NOTE: ROLLS 2 AND 3 CLOSED FOR CONSERVATION, 4/15/22]
- 1 linen
- 56 tracings
- 1 Letter
Sargent Estate, Brookline, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond
- Roll 1: "House C" 7 blueprints, 16 tracings
- Roll 2: "House H" 8 linens, 5 blueprints, 30 tracings
- Roll 3: "General" 30 tracings, 11 blueprints, 1 moldy linen
Scottish Rite Temple, Valley of Boston, MA; Architect: Lawson W. Oakes (1947)
- 8 tracings
Sewage Pumping Station, Wakefield, MA; Architect: Lowell (1926)
- 9 tracings
- 3 blueprints
South Side Junior High School, Newton, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1930)
- Roll 1: 17 blueprints
- Roll 2: 24 linens and 1 tracing
- Roll 3: 23 blueprints
State Normal School, dormitory and refectory, Framingham, MA; Architect: Lowell (1914)
- 38 linens
- 6 tracings (many in poor condition)
State Normal School, power plant, Bridgewater, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond (1927)
- 18 linens
- 18 blueprints
- 9 tracings
- 1 sketch
Sullivan, J.H., house, Brighton, MA; Architect: Henry (1935)
- 26 linens
Thesco House
- 12 blueprints
- 3 linens
- 1 tracing
Troglon, Lincoln, MA
- 5 blueprints
- 1 tracing
- 1 linen
Unidentified house/cabin (1941)
- 6 linens
Veterans Service Building, Minnesota Competition
- 5 drawings
Walton Lunch Co., School Street, Boston, MA
- 9 blueprints
- 12 tracings
- 4 sketches
Washington Memorial, Fall River, MA; Architect: Henry and Richmond, with sculptor Frederick Wallen
- 3 tracings
- 5 blueprints

Collection inventory