Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ben M. Herbster Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Biographical History

Ben Mohr Herbster (1904-1984) was an American Protestant clergyman. A native of Ohio, he was active in social issues such as civil rights. In 1961 he was elected the first president of the United Church of Christ, a position he held for eight years. He died in New York on December 16, 1984.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ben M. Herbster Papers consists of printed material, sermons, addresses and other material.

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Herbster, Ben M., 1904-

Corporate Bodies

United Church of Christ -- Clergy.

Subjects

Christian leadership.

Genres and Forms

Sermons.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ben M. Herbster Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ben M. Herbster, 1970.

Table of Contents

Printed material

Writings

Inventory