Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

James L. Holloway, Jr. Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1973

Biographical History

Admiral James Lemuel Holloway, Jr. (1898–1984) was a four-star admiral in the United States Navy. Born in Arkansas, he attended the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis and began his naval career in 1915 as a midshipman. Over the course of more than forty years in the Navy, he served as superintendent of the United States Naval Academy (1947-1950); as chief of naval personnel (1953 to 1957); and as commander in chief of United States naval forces in the eastern Atlantic and Mediterranean (1957 to 1959). After his retirement he served for a time as Governor of the United States Naval Home in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As author of the Holloway Plan, he was an important figure in the establishment of the modern Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps.

Admiral Holloway was respected both by both his colleagues and those with whom he came in contact in the course of his duties. United Nations diplomat Rajeshwar Dayal described Holloway -- whose press nickname was "Lord Jim" -- as "a gentleman to the core," and in a Time magazine article one officer who served on Holloway's staff noted that "If he will ever be known for any command, it will be for his command of the English language."

[Quotations taken respectively from Dayal, A Life of Our Times, p. 358–359 and "Restrained Power", TIME Magazine, August 4, 1958]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James L. Holloway, Jr. Papers consist of personal correspondence, invitations and other entertainment memorabilia, professional (military) correspondence-subject files, a small amount of manuscripts (reports, reminiscences, etc.), and general subject files.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent (incoming) or chronologically (outgoing). Invitations and entertainment memorabilia are arranged chronologically. Professional (military) correspondence-subject files and general subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject or title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Per Columbia University Oral History Archive (source of the original), reproduction, citation, or quotation of this transcript requires the permission of James L. Holloway's heirs.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to U.S. military history. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Holloway, James L. (James Lemuel), 1898- -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps.
United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Admirals -- United States.

Places

United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Memorandums.
Photographs.
Reports.

Occupations

Admirals.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James L. Holloway, Jr. Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence, personal

Invitations and entertainment memorabilia

Military (professional) subject files

Manuscripts

General subject files

Inventory