Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Robert Huff Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jul 1967

Biographical History

Robert Huff (1924-1993) was an American poet. He studied at Wayne State University, where he received his B.A. (1949) and his M.A. (1952) degrees. He taught at the University of Oregon, Fresno State College, and Oregon State College, and was an associate professor of English and a Poet in Residence at the University of Delaware. Mr. Huff's poems appeared in The Paris Review, Harper's, The Atlantic Monthly, The Saturday Review and Poetry, and he authored a volume of verse entitled Colonel Jackson's Ride and Other Poems, (1959).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Huff Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, a subject file, manuscripts and published material.

Biographical material contains biographical data released by The University News magazine of Indiana University. Correspondence includes incoming correspondence from various notables in the field of poetry and one outgoing piece of mail. The single Subject file consists of a promotion sheet for a scheduled reading of Huff's poetry by Huff. Manuscripts contains poems by Huff. Published material includes a newspaper article about Huff and his poems and the published poems of Huff and others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into incoming (arranged alphabetically by sender) and outgoing. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by the title of the poem as it appears in the final draft. Poems are arranged as to whether they appear in a magazine of verse or singly as clippings. They are divided further alphabetically according to the title of the poem.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Huff, Robert, 1924-

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Huff Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject file

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory