Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Victor Hugo Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 19 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Biographical History

Victor-Marie Hugo (1802-1885) was a French novelist, poet, and dramatist best known for his works the Notre-Dame de Paris (The Hunchback of Notre-Dame) (1831) and Les Misérables (1862).

Hugo was born February 26, 1802 in Besançon, France to Léopold and Sophie Hugo. His father was a high-ranking officer in Napoleon's army while his mother held strong royalist views. The result was a disjointed marriage. Hugo's father was sent to Spain in 1809, where he was named governor of two Spanish provinces, Ernani and Torquemada. His mother moved Hugo and his two brothers to his father's estate, but returned the family to Paris by 1812.

Hugo wrote his first play in 1816. By 1819, Hugo and his two brothers, Abel and Eugène, began production of a royalist review titled Conservateur littéraire. In 1822 Hugo married Adèle Foucher with whom he had five children. Shortly after, Foucher began an affair with Charles-Augustin Sainte-Beuve while Hugo started a relationship with actress Juliette Drouet.

Around mid-century Hugo became involved in politics. He was elected to the National Assembly in 1848 and to the Legislative Assembly in 1849. After his son, Charles, was imprisoned, Hugo opposed Napoleon III openly. As a result, when Napoleon III came to power in 1851 Hugo was forced to flee to Brussels. His family eventually settled on the island of Guernsey, with Drouet living next door. Hugo returned to France in 1870 where he continued his political involvement. He was elected to the National Assembly in 1870 and to the Senate in 1876.

Hugo had a successful literary career, serving as a central figure in French romanticism. Hugo died on May 22, 1885. His body lay in state under the Arc de Triomphe and the government ordered a period of national morning.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Victor Hugo Collection contains Biographical material, Correspondence, and Memorabilia from the French author. The Correspondence is divided into two subseries. Letters from Victor Hugo includes 7 pieces of correspondence from Hugo to various individuals. Meanwhile, Letters from Juliette Drouet contains letters from Juliette Drouet, Hugo's mistress, to Victor Hugo (1839-1878), with the exception of a single letter from Drouet to an unidentified individual (26 Mar 1846). Memorabilia consists of two ballot tickets as well as wedding invitations to Hugo's son's wedding.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into three series: Biographical material, Correspondence, and Memorabilia. The Correspondence is divided into two subseries, Letters from Victor Hugo and Letters from Juliette Drouet, which are arranged alphabetically by recipient.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Drouet, Juliette, 1806-1883 -- Correspondence.
Hugo, Victor, 1802-1885 -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Actors -- France.
Authors, French.
French literature -- 19th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Inventory