Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Audella Beebe Hyatt Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1966?

Biographical History

Audella Beebe Hyatt was born in Kinderhook, N.Y., on Feb. 14, 1840. Little is known of her early life. Her father was a farmer. Audella had a brother and sister four years older than herself, Aurelia, and together with their mother often traveled to New York City to buy new clothes. Audella attended a local academy for her education. Following the Civil War and the death of her father, she was living in New York with her mother when Mrs. Alpheus Hyatt of Baltimore asked her to come for a prolonged visit to Baltimore. Mrs. Hyatt (Harriet Randolph King) had recently become a widow. She and Audella had met during the war when they both were doing volunteer work. At the Hyatt estate, "Wansbec", Audella met Alpheus Hyatt II, and they were married Jan. 7, 1867. She had three children, Harriet, Alpheus III, and Anna Vaughn, a fourth child died in infancy.

Mrs. Hyatt was talented as an artist and painter of landscapes. She assisted her husband in his research by painting the sketches and diagrams for his books and lectures and copying his paleontological data. She moved with her husband to Cambridge, Mass. and made the Massachusetts area her home for more than thirty years.

She was also well known for her researches in family genealogy, the fruits of which placed with the work of her daughter Harriet are contained in the Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection. Mrs. Hyatt had great wit and retained her charm until her death at the well-advanced age of 92.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The papers of Audella Beebe Hyatt (Mrs. Alpheus Hyatt II) include biographical material, extensive correspondence, account books, legal papers, notebooks, photographs, diaries, partial autobiography, sketches, and other manuscripts, and published material consisting of articles about others and newspaper clippings about Audella Hyatt and others.

Correspondence, includes both incoming and outgoing letters as well as the correspondence of others and correspondence arranged by subject consisting of a letterbook of sympathy letters dated 1879 and 1893, and a notebook of letters, mainly from Lizzie A. Hyatt Ogden. Correspondents include Clara Carter Hyatt Coad, Mary E. Freeman, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Archer M. Huntington, Alpheus Hyatt, Leon Kroll, Alpheus Hyatt Mayor, and Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor. Subject File, consists of account books, cards and invitations, legal papers, notes, notebooks, photographs and scrapbooks containing photographs, and scientific prints. Diaries, includes diaries arranged chronologically between the years 1858-1863, 1867, 1883, 1900-1905, 1907-1908, 1910, 1913, and one titled "Freiburg 1913-1914". Also included in this series is an undated diary. Manuscripts, includes an unorganized series of holograph notes and typed pages titled "Autobiography," a hand-drawn map titled "Battleground of Guildford Court House," and sketches. Published Material, includes articles about others, newspaper clippings about Audella Hyatt, and newspaper clippings about others.

Arrangement of the Collection

The incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author. The outgoing letters are arranged chronologically. Subject File, Manuscripts, and Published Materials are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections for the Hyatt-Mayor families. For information on members of the Hyatt, Mayor, Beebe, and Huntington families see the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.

Subject Headings

Persons

Freeman, Mary Eleanor Wilkins, 1852-1930.
Huntington, Anna Hyatt, 1876-1973.
Huntington, Archer Milton, 1870-
Hyatt, Alpheus, 1838-1902.
Mayor, A. Hyatt (Alpheus Hyatt), 1901-
Mayor, Harriet Randolph Hyatt, 1868-1960.
Kroll, Leon, 1884-1974.
Hyatt, Audella Beebe, 1840-1932.
Hyatt family.
Mayor family.

Subjects

Women painters -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Women artists -- United States.
Art, American.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Audella Beebe Hyatt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anna Hyatt Huntington, 1964-1967.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject File

Diaries

Manuscripts

Published Material

Inventory