Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1966?

Biographical History

For Biographical History of the Hyatt and Mayor families see the finding aids of individual family members.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection includes correspondence, certificates of birth, marriage, and baptism, contracts, family trees, notebooks and notes, and published material consisting of books on family genealogy, magazines, and pamphlets. The Genealogical materials have been pulled from the papers of various members of the Hyatt and Mayor families, especially those of Audella Hyatt (Mrs. Alpheus Hyatt II) and Harriet Hyatt Mayor. Whenever possible the original source of the materials has been noted on each folder. Also included are unidentified papers from the Hyatt-Mayor family papers consisting of correspondence, subject file, manuscripts, and published material. They have been divided into parts but have been left unarranged within their respective group.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing correspondence, correspondence to and from others, and correspondence arranged by subject. Incoming and outgoing correspondence consists of letters to and from various family members of the Hyatt and Mayor families. Correspondence by subject consists of a letter-file and a large folder entitled "Letters Giving the History of the Mayor Family." Subject File includes certificates of birth, baptism, and marriage, chancery proceedings, contracts, DAR applications, family trees, notebooks, notes and wills. Published Material contains books, magazines, and pamphlets on genealogy. Unidentified papers from the Hyatt-Mayor family papers consist of correspondence, artifacts, a map, photographs, and negatives, a photobook, postcards, manuscript materials and published materials.

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author and outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically. Correspondence to and from others is arranged alphabetically by author. The original order of the correspondence has been maintained for both groups, with the exception of a few items removed from the letter-file. Items removed from the letter-file are arranged alphabetically by author following the letter-file. Subject File is arrange alphabetically by type. Published Material is also arranged alphabetically by type, but is then organized alphabetically by title. Unidentified papers are divided into parts but have been unarranged within their respective group.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections for the Hyatt-Mayor families. For information on members of the Hyatt, Mayor, Beebe, and Huntington families see the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hyatt family.
Hyatt, Audella Beebe, 1840-1932.
Mayor family.
Mayor, Alfred Goldsborough, 1868-1922.
Mayor, Harriet H. (Harriet Hyatt), 1868-1960.

Subjects

Genealogy.

Genres and Forms

Birth certificates.
Books.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Genealogies (histories)
Magazines (periodicals)
Maps (documents)
Marriage certificates.
Negatives (photographs)
Notebooks.
Notes (documents)
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Postcards.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject File

Published Material

Unidentified Papers from the Hyatt-Mayor Family Papers

Inventory