Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Inter-University Case Program Records

An inventory of its papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by:
Date: 10 Jun 2005

Biographical History

The Inter-University Case Program (ICP) funded and published case studies of government decision-making as well as related materials for teaching of Public Administration and Political Science. (In its first three years, the organization was known as the Committee on Public Administration Cases or CPAC.)

Between 1948 and 1991, the ICP published 164 case studies and special studies of government decision-making and administration for departments of Political Science and Public Administration in over 60 member universities. Most of the studies dealt with American government, but some, mostly after 1960, described situations in Britain, Europe, and developing countries in Asia. This collection includes all ICP publications as well as "case method" publications that deal with case preparation, case teaching, and the relation of case studies to academic theorizing in Political Science and Public Administration. The collection also includes minutes of the ICP Board meetings at which case projects were planned and drafts of cases critically reviewed.

Beginning in 1958 the ICP, with support from the Ford Foundation, encouraged the use of the case method in related fields (e.g., social welfare and public health administration) and by interested universities and government training institutions in Europe and Asia. Studies, correspondence, and memoranda about these efforts are included in this collection.

The ICP Board included a number of eminent scholars who were part of the movement, begun in the 1930s, to make more realistic (and less solely legalistic) university teaching and theorizing about the workings of government in America. (Syracuse University's Special Collections Research Center also has a number of other collections related to this topic; see Related Material.) Correspondence with these Board members is included in this collection, as are the case preparation file folders for most of the published and quite a number of unpublished cases; some of these contain interesting correspondence about factual matters from public officials described in the cases.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Inter-University Case Program Records consists of case studies, books, and other published items; editorial drafts and related correspondence and research material; board meeting minutes and planning documents; and administrative files and correspondence.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Published case studies have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search and search for the phrase "inter-university case program" as a keyword.

See also the Alan K. Campbell Papers and Donald Stone Papers.

Subject Headings

Persons

Stone, Donald Crawford, 1903-
Appleby, Paul.
Bock, Edwin A.
Campbell, Alan K.

Corporate Bodies

American Society for Public Administration.
Committee on Public Administration Cases.
Inter-university Case Program.

Subjects

CASE method.
CPAC case studies.
Federal government -- United States.
Inter-university Case Program.
Intergovernmental cooperation.
Municipal government -- United States.
Public administration -- Case studies.
Public administration -- India.
Public administration -- Ireland.
Public administration -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Bank statements.
Case studies.
Correspondence.
Essays.
Meeting minutes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Inter-University Case Program Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edwin Bock, 2004-2005

Table of Contents

Introductory material

Case studies published by CPAC/ICP

Case method material

Corporation and Board of Trustees material

Publication and copyright material

Miscellaneous

Microfilm

Inventory