| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: DMB
Date: 7 Jul 1978
|
|
|
| 19 Feb 2008 | converted to EAD (MRC) |
| 14 Oct 2009 | corrections to OS1/A6, added index (MRC) |
| 25 Apr 2022 | package 1 rehoused into OS 1 and OS 8 (MRC) |
| 20 Nov 2024 | all paper packages rehoused (MRC) |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Jacobs, Robert Allan. |
| Title: | Robert A. Jacobs Photographs |
| Dates: | 1918-1949 |
| Quantity: | 12 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American architect, partner in New York City architectural firm, Kahn and Jacobs. Photograph folios of architectural projects; preliminary sketches. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Robert A. Jacobs (1905-1993) was an American architect. Jacobs graduated from Amherst College and Columbia University's School of Architecture and spent his early years working for Le Corbusier in Paris and Wallace K. Harrison in New York. In 1940, he partnered with Ely Jacques Kahn to form Kahn & Jacobs (later in 1972 the firm merged with Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum). For forty years the firm designed and built numerous structures in New York City, including the American Airlines terminal at Kennedy International Airport, the office building One Astor Plaza, and the Municipal Asphalt Plant at 90th Street and East River Drive, named by the Museum of Modern Art as one of the best designs of the 1930s and 1940s.
Jacobs was a fellow of the American Institute of Architects and a member of the Architectural League of New York.
The Robert A. Jacobs Photographs consist of photographs of Jacobs' architectural projects.
Photographs are in no particular order.
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Special Collections Research Center holds the papers of many notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Persons
Jacobs, Robert Allan.
Corporate Bodies
Kahn and Jacobs (New York, N.Y.)
Subjects
Architects -- United States.
Architectural drawing.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Architecture, Industrial.
Photography, Architectural.
Genres and Forms
Photographs.
Occupations
Architects.
Sketches.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Robert A. Jacobs Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Photographs
Alphabetical index of projects
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Photographs are in original portfolios, with original labels and enumeration. An alphabetical index of projects appears at the end of this finding aid. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Folio A-2 1925-1926 | ||||||||||
| 550 7th Ave., 1925 N.Y. Furniture Exchange, 1926 Lefcourt Madison Building, 1925 Lefcourt Empire Building, 1925-1926 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Folio A-3 1918, 1924-1925 | ||||||||||
| 79 Madison Ave., 1925 24-26 W. 40th St., 1924-1925 247-251 W. 35th St., 1924-1925 30 E. 42nd St. Ruben building Cusack building |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Folio A-4 1921-1930 | ||||||||||
| Armion building, 1921 Banco Construction Corp. building, 1925 Bomzon building, 1925 Borden building, 1923 Federation building, 1927-1930 15-19 W. 39th St. building, 1925-1926 269 Madison Ave, 1926-1927 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Folio A-4-a 1926-1931 | ||||||||||
| 2 Park Ave. building, 1926-1931 | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Folio A-5 1919-1935 | ||||||||||
| Jay-Thorpe, Inc., 1919-1935 Collins Oppenheim and Co., 1921-1924 Simonson, Inc. Steiger-Vedder Co, Shop of Hazel Kolman, Inc., 1926 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Folio A-6 1918-1921, 1926-1930 | ||||||||||
| Eagle Pencil Co., 1923-1934 Kahn and Feldman, 1919-1921 Lehn and Fink, 1918 Pinaud building, 1926-1930 Merit Hosiery Co., 1926-1929 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Folio A-7 1925-1927, 1937 | ||||||||||
| Insurance Center building, 1926-1927 Northwest corner of 37th St. and 6th Ave, 1925-1926 Court Square building, 1926-1927 42-44 W. 39th St., 1937 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Folio A-8 1925-1929 | ||||||||||
| Southwest corner of Madison Ave. and 49th St., 1925-1926 1 W. 57th St (Bergdorf-Goodman building), 1927-1928 U.S. Appraisers Stores, 1927-1929 International Telephone building (Broad and Beaver Streets), 1928 Lefcourt State building, 1927 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Folio A-9 1927-1930 | ||||||||||
| 334-336 7th Ave.,1927-1930 Lefcourt Clothing Center, 1928 Southeast corner of 29th St. and 5th Ave., 1928-1930 Film center, 1928-1930 23 W. 45th St., 1928 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Folio C-4 1925, undated | ||||||||||
| Eisig residence (Tuckahoe, NY) Karpen residence (New Rochelle, NY), 1925 Plaut residence (Elmsford, NY) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Folio C-6 1927 | ||||||||||
| Tishman residence, 1927 Liebman residence, 1927 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Folio C-7 1929-1931, undated | ||||||||||
| Benjamin residence (New York, NY), 1930 Equitable Trust Co., 1929-1931 Kolman residence (New York, NY) Dr. Marcus A. Rothschild office |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Folio C-12 1940-1942, 1947, undated | ||||||||||
| Andrews residence (Connecticut), 1940 Coigne log cabin (New Jersey), 1941 Ettinger residence (Connecticut), 1942 Club house, Smullens, New Jersey, 1941 Garfunkel residence (New York) Rose residence (New York), 1947 General Transportation Casualty and Surety Co. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Folio D-1 1922-1928, 1941, undated | ||||||||||
| Hospital for Joint Diseases, 1922-1928 U.G.S. Project New York City Garage and Air Raid Shelter, 1941 National Urban League USO buildings, 1941 Schiff Pavilion, Montefiore home, 1925 Montefiore home, 1925 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Folio E-1 1919-1931, undated | ||||||||||
| Davidow residence (New York), 1927 Harris residence (New York), 1924-1925 Kahn residence (New York), 1919-1931 Kahn residence (Elmsford, NY), 1919-1931 Herman Younker residence (Elmsford, NY) Ira Younker residence (Elmsford, NY) A. Schweizer residence (New York), 1923 Riesenfeld residence (New York), 1923 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Folio E-2 1924-1925, 1941 | ||||||||||
| Maillard's (Chicago), 1924-1925 Cincinnati Mayflower Shop, 1941 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Folio E-3 undated | ||||||||||
| Kridel residence (New York) Hellman residence (New York) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Folio E-4 1929-1931, undated | ||||||||||
| Van Cleef and Arpels, Inc.,, 1929-1931 Leron, Inc., 1931 Voice of America building 120 Wall St., 1930 Glen Oaks Golf and Country Club, 1929 Bricken building, 1929-1930 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Folio E-5 1925-1926, 1940, 1948 | ||||||||||
| Bonwit Teller, 1940 Quaker Ridge Golf Club, 1926 Fairview Country Club, 1925-1926 Broadmoor Country Club, 1925-1926 Calumet Club, 1925 Scholle residence, 1948 Reynolds Bar (Georgia), 1948 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Folio E-6 1929-1937, undated | ||||||||||
| Richard Hudnut, 1930-1935 Huyler's (Chicago), 1936 Huyler's (Buffalo), 1937 Burlington Mills Hosiery Factory Shearith-Israel Synagogue Carnegie Hall Continental building 530 7th Ave. Holland Plaza building, 1929-1930 111 John St. building, 1929 Allied Arts building, 1929 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Folio E-7 1930-1931, 1940, 1942, 1946, undated | ||||||||||
| Greenebaum apartment (New York) Jacob Ruppert Distributing Plant, 1942 Jacobs residence, 1940 Southeast corner of Broadway and 39th St., 1930-1931 Northeast corner of Broadway and 38th St., 1930-1931 Satenstein residence (New York), 1946 Fort Greene houses (Brooklyn, NY) War housing project (Rome, NY) Housing projet (Mineville, NY) Lexington Park Project, 1942 Gowanus houses Carver houses |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Folio E-9 1925, 1940, undated | ||||||||||
| Arsenal building (New York), 1925 Millinery Center building (New York). 1925 Park-Murray Corporation Parents' Magazine office, 1940 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Folio E-10 1938-1942 1949, undated | ||||||||||
| American Iron and Steel Exhibit 30 E. 42nd St. Mausoleums Morgenthau residence (New Jersey) Northeast corner of 5th Ave. and 31st St. Morgenthau residence (New York) Charles Kaye buildings L. P. Hollander and Co. Longchamps Restaurant, 1949 498 7th Ave. (before alteration) 500 7th Ave. (before alteration) Pix Theatre (Longchamps), 1939 Stauffer Chemical Southeast corner of Lexington Ave. and 57th St., 1930 Paramount Annex 1930 Northwest corner of 3rd Ave. and 44th St., 1930 16 Desbrosses St., 1938 119-121 Watts St., 1938 Cullman residence (New York), 1941 Hoffman residence (New York), 1942 Marshall residence (New York), 1941 Spiegelberg residence (New York) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Folio F-2 1936 | ||||||||||
| American Institute of Architects Exhibition, 1936 | |||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Folio F-3 1920-1923, 1928-1934, 1937, 1939, undated | ||||||||||
| General Cigar building, New York World's Fair, 1939
Design for service station Design for department store Shelton Looms showroom, 1928-1929 Yardley and Co., Ltd. showroom, 1933-1934 E. R. Squibb and Sons executive offices, 1929-1933 E. R. Squibb and Sons sales office, 1929-1933 Kohler Company building, 1932-1933 Johns-Manville building, 1933 Sidney Blumenthal and Company Strauss Mausoleum, 1929-1930 Borden building executive offices, 1920-1923 New York City Department of Sanitation, 1937 |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Preliminary sketches 1 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Preliminary sketches 2 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Preliminary sketches 3 | ||||||||||