Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Philip Kappel Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Dec 1993

Biographical History

Philip Kappel (1901-1981) was an American artist, art collector, and author. Born in Connecticut, Kappel worked in a variety of media including etching and illustrating and wrote several books and essays.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Philip Kappel Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia.

Correspondence consists of two incoming letters, one from Buckingham Palace acknowledging the Queen of England's receipt of Kappel's book Jamaica Gallery. Artwork contains three original etchings and a few reproductions (personal greeting cards and a dust jacket for Timothy Dexter Revisited by John P. Marquand). Writings include typescript drafts with revisions, galley proofs, and an introduction by Marquand for the book Jamaica Gallery, a book dummy of New England Gallery, and a published essay about Kappel's 18th century house.

Memorabilia comprises photographs and printed material. Photographs depict Kappel in his studio and home, and at a ceremony at Trinity College in which he received an honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree. Printed material encompasses articles and reviews (1932-1965); newspaper clippings (1932-1966); an exhibit catalog (1966) of 18th and 19th century Japanese prints which Kappel arranged and selected from his personal collection; exhibition catalogs including Kappel's work (1941-1966); an exhibit invitation; and book publicity.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by title and/or type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Kappel, Philip.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Etchers -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Drafts (documents)
Etchings (prints)
Exhibition catalogs.
Galley proofs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Philip Kappel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Bigoraphical material

Correspondence

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory