Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Edgar Kaufmann, Jr. (1910-1989) was an American industrial designer, architect and artist. He apprenticed with Frank Lloyd Wright (1933-1934) and his father, Edgar Kaufmann, Sr., commissioned Fallingwater from noted architect Frank Lloyd Wright in 1936. Among his other accomplishments, he was director of the industrial design department at the Museum of Modern Art (1946-1955) and worked to encourage uniform standards for industrial design education.

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from information found in the "People" section of the Industrial Design Society of America's website, http://www.idsa.org.]

The Kaufmann Industrial Design Award was administered by the Institute of International Education and sponsored by the Edgar Kaufmann Foundation to give public recognition to accomplishments in all fields of design and to encourage enterprising design developments. The award was discontinued in 1967.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records contains material relating to candidates for the award from 1960-1962.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is subdivided by year and within that arranged chronologically by name of candidate. Duplicate material and oversize material is filed at the end of the collection.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous noted industrial designers and related organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Edgar Kaufmann Foundation.
Institute of International Education (New York, N.Y.)
Kaufmann Industrial Design Award.

Subjects

Industrial design -- Awards.
Industrial designers.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Awards candidates

Duplicate material

Inventory