Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

George Kimak Papers relating to Artmobile, Inc.

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: JOD
Date: Feb 1991

Biographical History

George Kimak was an art teacher in Baldwinsville, New York. With Barbara Chapin, he founded Artmobile, a travelling art gallery based on the same idea as library bookmobiles. Similar efforts by museums such as Illinois State Museum's Museumobile and the Trailer Museum in Cleveland had already proven successful, and the New York State Art Teachers Association was involved as a sponsor. Artmobile was intended to "bring original works of art to the schools of New York State" and in particular to make creative masterpieces physically and intellectually accessible to rural and semi-rural populations. Materials were loaned by museums, galleries, and other art institutions as well as by individuals. Artmobile, Inc. was a non-profit corporation that oversaw the operation of the Artmobile.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Kimak Papers Relating to Artmobile, Inc. contains correspondence and papers relating to Artmobile, Inc. and some personal papers of its co-founder George Kimak, covering the years 1950 to 1969. Materials in the collection relate primarily to the planning and development of the "Artmobile concept" between 1952 and 1956 and are divided into four series.

Official records include purpose statements, board minutes, bylaws, and membership material. Office files relate to the development and formation of the organization; letters of inquiry, solicitation and support; and promotional material. Historical files and memorabilia contains clippings, scrapbooks, and a tape of a radio program. Personal Papers of George Kimak contain biographical material, correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia.

Arrangement of the Collection

Official records, office files, and historical files are arranged chronologically. Kimak's personal papers are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Chapin, Barbara.
Kimak, George.
Mark, Bessie.
Munzer, Bertha.
Popolizio, Vincent.
Raych, A. Morton.
Ryerson, Elbert.

Subjects

Art -- Exhibitions.
Art -- Study and teaching.
Art museum directors.
Art museums -- Educational aspects.
Art museums -- New York (State)
Art teachers.
Artmobile, Inc. -- Records and correspondence.
Educational exhibits, Traveling.
Educators.
Exhibitions -- New York (State)
Traveling exhibitions -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Questionnaires.
Scrapbooks.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Art museum directors.
Art teachers.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Kimak Papers relating to Artmobile, Inc.
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Official records

Office files

Historical files and memorabilia

Personal Papers - George Kimak

Inventory