Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Georgina Klitgaard Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Apr 1993

Biographical History

American painter, lithographer, and wife of artist and author Kaj Klitgaard

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1917 to 1965, the Georgina Klitgaard Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the American painter and educator (b. 1893). The collection provides insight into Klitgaard's personal life as well as her artistic career, particularly when used in conjunction with the Papers of her husband, Kaj Klitgaard, whose collection is also in the Library.

Arranged chronologically, the Correspondence, predominantly from the years 1945 to 1954, consists of incoming letters which illuminate Klitgaard's relationships with fellow artists (Bill Alexander, George Biddle, Julius Bloch, Juliana R. Force, Hermon More, Hobson Pittman, Homer Saint-Gaudens, Eugene Speicher). Other correspondents include literary figures (Ray Bethers, Van Cort, Daisy Sanial Gill, Victoria Ebbels Hutson, Hughes Mearns, Jean Paul Slusser, Charles Allen Smart); and patrons (W. Sterry and Bowman W. Branning, Pauline and Sam Klein). The Correspondence also reveals Klitgaard's associations with art galleries, museums, and related organizations (Art Museum of the New Britain Institute, Carnegie Institute, Dudensing Galleries, Grand Central Art Galleries, Inc., Huntington Hartford Foundation, Highland Park Society of Arts, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Montclair Art Museum, Norwegian Art & Craft Club, Frank K.M. Rehn, Inc., Augustus Saint-Gaudens Memorial, Tyringham Galleries, Whitney Museum of American Art); educational institutions (Barnard College, Columbia University, New School for Social Research, Skidmore College); professional organizations (Artists Equity Association, College Art Association, National Society of American Art, Woodstock Artists Association); those soliciting commissioned work, reproductions, or remarks (American Artists Group, Inc., Benton & Bowles, Inc., California Thoroughbred Breeders Association, Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company, Henry Gladstone Greeting Cards of Distinction, Nation's Heritage, New York State Education, W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.); and sociopolitical causes (Artists' Auction Against The Nation Ban, Committee for the Negro in the Arts, Iron Curtain Refugee Campaign). A selected index to the Correspondence follows the box list.

Artwork encompasses etchings, a partial inventory of paintings, lithographic plates, photographs of paintings, reproductions, and sketches. The Photographs, largely undated, are arranged alphabetically by titles provided by Klitgaard. Reproductions (1923-1949) range from Christmas cards to magazine covers. Two posters of landscapes commissioned by the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company, as well as a poster of "Daisies," may be found in Oversize Package #1. Pencil and watercolor Sketches, categorized by medium, are in alphabetical order by title. Oversize Package #1 houses eleven additional watercolor Sketches.

Writings consists of Klitgaard's holograph comments about her own artwork, specifically post office murals painted in Goshen, New York, Pelham, Georgia, and Poughkeepsie, New York; paintings commissioned by the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company; and her approach to painting in general.

Memorabilia includes artwork by Ben Benn, Chrystal Corcos, Edith Nagler, and Fred Nagler, an award, personal photographs, printed material, and typescript reviews. Printed material contains newspaper clippings (1928-1965), exhibition catalogs and announcements (1927-1965), in addition to several art periodical reviews (1939-1948).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Our holdings also include the Georgina Klitgaard Collection, and the papers of Georgina Klitgaard's husband, Kaj Klitgaard.

Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Bill.
Barrie, Erwin S.
Bethers, Ray, 1902-
Biddle, George, 1885-1973.
Bloch, Julius T. (Julius Thiengen), 1888-1966.
Borne, Mortimer.
Branning, W. Sterry.
Bush, Lucile Elizabeth.
Carey, Millicent, 1898-
Cort, Van.
Cowles, Russell, 1887-1979.
Day, Katharine Briggs Dodge.
Dehner, Dorothy, 1901-1994.
Force, Juliana, 1876-1948.
Gamble, Kathryn Elizabeth.
Gill, Daisy Sanial.
Goodrich, Lloyd, 1897-1987.
Hollingsworth, Buckner.
Klitgaard, Georgina, 1893-
Klitgaard, Kaj.
Kuniyoshi, Yasuo, 1889-1953.
MacLeish, Archibald, 1892-1982.
Mearns, Hughes, 1875-1965.
More, Hermon.
Pittman, Hobson Lafayette, 1899 or 1900-1972.
Pollak, Frances M.
Poor, Henry Varnum, 1887-1970.
Saint-Gaudens, Homer, 1880-1958.
Saunders, Silvia
Slusser, Jean Paul, 1886-1981.
Smart, Charles Allen, 1904-1967.
Spaatz, Carl, 1891-1974.
Speicher, Eugene Edward, 1883-1962.
Taylor, Francis Henry, 1903-1957.
Weeks, Zoraida E.
Zorach, William, 1887-1966.

Corporate Bodies

American Artists Group.
Carnegie Institute.
Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Lithographers -- United States.
Mural painting and decoration -- United States -- 20th century.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States
Women painters -- United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketches.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

Artists.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Georgina Klitgaard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Selected index to correspondence

Inventory

Selected index to correspondence