Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 17 Jan 2006

Biographical History

Louis Krasner (1903-1995) was a renowned Ukrainian-born American classical violinist. He is perhaps best known for commissioning and premiering Alban Berg's famous violin concerto. He studied at the New England Conservatory and performed as a virtuoso recitalist in the 1920s and 1930s. In 1944 Krasner was named concertmaster of the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra, a post he left in1949 to join the faculty of Syracuse University where he taught violin and chamber music until 1972. He was also an active contributor to local radio station WCNY, hosting a program featuring both classical and contemporary music entitled "What's With Music." He also taught at the New England Conservatory and at Tanglewood.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera comprises music-related ephemera from the 18th and 19th century collected by Louis Krasner, a Russian-born violinist and composer who taught violin and chamber music at Syracuse University from 1949-1972. The collection comprises bookplates, trade cards and concert programs, as well as several undated photographs and sketches (artist and photographer unknown).

Bookplates include those of several well-known musicians or collectors of music-related books and manuscripts: Sir Henry Ellacombe (1790-1885), a pioneer of campanology; Walter Parratt (1841-1924), premier organist of St. George's chapel; Henry Fleetwood Sheppard, precentor of the Doncaster Choral Union and collector of Devon and Cornwall folksongs; Sir John Stainer, chorister and organist at St. Paul's; Thomas Bever (1725-1791), lawyer and collector of rare books and manuscripts, particularly on music; Julian Marshall (1836-1903), English collector of and writer on music; Rev. William Gostling, a minor Canon of Canterbury cathedral and creator of a “curious and valuable” collection of music; Michael Christian Festing (1705-1752), English composer and violin virtuoso, Master of the King's Music, leader of the Philharmonic Society Orchestra and co-founder of the Royal Society of Musicians; and William Crotch (1775-1847), composer and teacher, organist at Christ Church in Oxford, and co-founder of Royal Academy of Music.

Trade cards and programs include that of Mr. Herring (“Harpsichord &c taught”); John Young, Musicall Instrument Seller; James Davenport, Music Seller; W.E. Hill and Sons, London; and the Theatre, Oxford (1818 and 1823).

Photographs include nyckelharpa and Indian instruments. Sketches include African instruments; Chinese street musicians; and Assyrian musicians playing various instruments.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995

Subjects

Bookplates, English.
Library bookplates.
Music in art.
Musicians.

Genres and Forms

Bookplates.
Photographs.
Sketches.
Trade cards.

Occupations

Book collectors.
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera ,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated by Louis Krasner

Table of Contents

Bookplates

Trade cards and programs

Photographs

Sketches and drawings

Inventory