Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jul 1967

Biographical History

Edward D. Kuekes (1901-1987) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Ed Kuekes was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 2, 1901. He studied at the Baldwin-Wallace College, the Cleveland Institute of Art, and the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts. He was appointed to President Eisenhower's "People to People" committee and has received awards from the Newspaper Guild, the C.I.T. Fund, the Freedom Fund at Valley Forge, and the National Safety Council. He has been presented with the Baldwin-Wallace Alumni Merit Award, the National Cartoonists Society Silver T-Square Award, the United States Presidential Prayer Award, the Christopher Award, the United States Treasury Award, the Salvation Army Centennial Award, and in 1953 the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning. He is the creator of Funny Fables and the cartoon Alice in Wonderland for United Features Syndicate, and has lectured to various art groups on the subject, "So you can't draw a straight line, either."

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons consists of approximately 4,000 original political cartoons which appeared in the Cleveland Plain Dealer between 1947 and 1963. The collection is arranged chronologically. In addition to a few press clippings about Kuekes, the collection also includes a reproduction of "Aftermath," the cartoon for which Kuekes was awarded the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning, as well several other printed examples of Kuekes' work.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over eighty cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Kuekes, Edward D., 1901-1987.

Associated Titles

Cleveland plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio : 1885)
Plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Ohio -- Cleveland.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Pulitzer Prizes.
World politics -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government, 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward D. Kuekes, 1964.

Table of Contents

Clippings and Printed Material

Cartoons

Oversize Cartoons

Inventory