Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Bruce Lancaster Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Dec 1966

Biographical History

Bruce Lancaster was born in Worcester, Massachusetts on August 22, 1896. He served in the U.S. Army along the Mexican border in 1916 and later in France. After the war he returned to school and received a B.A. from Harvard in 1918. He worked in administration and sales for nine years, after which he served in the U.S. Foreign Service as Vice-Consul to Kobe, Japan (1928-1932). Following his return to the United States he became assistant secretary to the board of governors of the Society of New York Hospitals, and began to write the novels which would make him famous. Most of his works are historical novels, including Guns of Burgoyne, Trumpet to Arms, and Blind Journey. He has also written historical non-fiction, such as From Lexington to Liberty (1955).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bruce Lancaster Papers are divided into five series. Correspondence (1931, 1952, 1960) consists of a very small amount of incoming correspondence and correspondence of others. Subject files (undated) comprises research material, notes, and a galley proof. Manuscripts (1939-1958) contains manuscript versions of articles, books, speeches, and a paper. Published material (1939-1964) consists of an article and several books. Scrapbooks consist of two volumes containing clippings, reviews, and other material relating to Lancaster's books.

Arrangement of the Collection

Boxes 1-9 appear to be unprocessed and remain in the order originally received. Boxes 10-18 have been processed and material is in alphabetical order by type. When published books were removed for separate cataloging, boxes 14 through 17 were combined into a single box labelled "Box 14-17."

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

A number of published books by Lancaster were removed from the collection for separate cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search and search for "Lancaster, Bruce" as author to located these items.

Subject Headings

Persons

Lancaster, Bruce, 1896-1963 Archives.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Popular literature, United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bruce Lancaster Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Lancaster, 1965-67.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Scrapbooks

Inventory