Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Eastwood Lane Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAD
Date: Jul 1986

Biographical History

Sidney Eastwood Lane (1879-1951), known professionally simply as Eastwood Lane, was an American composer and author from New York State. His compositions include piano suites, impressionist pieces, and ballet; perhaps his best-known piece is Adirondack Sketches.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eastwood Lane Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence-subject files, memorabilia, scores and writings.

Biographical material includes biographical sketches, a biographical article by Norman Gentieu and notes about the Eastwood Family.

Correspondence-subject files most of which is undated, contains single letters from composers William Berwald, Charles Huerter, and Deems Taylor, contemporaries and friends of Lane. The largest group of correspondence is with soprano Modena Scovill Lane, his wife. Many of these were written from Lane's Adirondack home and discuss the natural surroundings as well as local events and news.

Memorabilia includes clippings, concert programs, photographs, promotional material for Lane's published music, modern recordings of his compositions, address books and an essay about the Adirondacks by his Aunt Ella Eastwood Wood.

Scores is by far the largest component of this collection. Some pieces are in sketch form, others in published format. Few of the handwritten scores are dated.

Writings includes diaries, notes for a play, letters to editors and articles.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, memorabilia scores and writings are all arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Benet, William Rose, 1886-1950.
Berwald, W. (William), 1864-1948.
Lane, Eastwood, 1879-1951.
Scovill, Modena.
Shawn, Ted, 1891-1972.
St. Denis, Ruth, 1880-1968.
Taylor, Deems, 1885-1966.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.
Composition (Music)

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Audiocassettes.
Compact discs.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.
Programs (documents)
Scores.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eastwood Lane Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman Gentieu, 1982.

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Franklin E. Dunham, 2013.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence subject files

Memorabilia

Scores

Writings

Inventory