Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Harold Larrabee Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Oct 2009

Biographical History

Harold Atkins Larrabee (1894-1979) was an American philosopher, author, and teacher.

Born in Melrose, Massachusetts, Larrabee graduated from Harvard University in 1916, received his master's degree from Columbia in 1918 and earned a Ph.D from Harvard in 1925. He taught at Syracuse University and the University of Vermont before joining Union College in Schenectady, New York, where he held the Ichabod Spencer Chair in philosophy until his retirement in 1960. He wrote journal articles, books, pamphlets and book reviews for various outlets, and was for decades the Senior Editor of the New England Quarterly. His writings focused on philosophy, history and the importance of education.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Larrabee Papers consists of correspondence, printed material, and writings.

Correspondence consists primarily of letters from Larrabee to Jane McGrew Nabers spanning nearly thirty years. There is also one folder of letters in response to book reviews written by Larrabee.

Printed material contains articles, essays, books, book reviews, and poems by Larrabee, as well as a few items by others, probably kept by Larrabee as souvenirs or memorabilia.

Writings contains typescripts by Larrabee, many with handwritten corrections, annotations, or revisions. Included are drafts of Larrabee's books Decision on the Chesapeake is here, as well as his thesis and dissertation, "The Philosophical Foundations of the Social Theory of Henri de Saint-Simon."

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by type of material. Printed material is subdivided by type (articles, books, etc.) and within that alphabetical by title, while writings (manuscripts) are alphabetical by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Larrabee, Harold A. (Harold Atkins), 1894-1979.

Subjects

Philosophers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.
Philosophers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Larrabee Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold A. Larrabee, 1967.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Printed materials

Writings

Inventory