Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Hal I. Leyshon Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMW
Date: 6 Nov 1979

Biographical History

Hal I. Leyshon (1901 or 1902-1966) was an American newspaperman and public relations executive. Leyshon was in the newspaper business for twenty years, eventually becoming editor fo the Miami News (which won a Pulitzer during his tenure). In 1941 he left to open his own public relations firm that specialized in government and labor relations, tourism, travel, aviation, films, media writing and other areas. Among his clients were the American Federation of Musicians, the Democratic National Committee, TWA, the American Red Cross, and the Storer Radio chain.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hal I. Leyshon Papers contains subject files, writings, printed material and recordings.

General files cover the American Federation of Musicians contract and tours to Florida. Writings contains reports indicating how his company would represent particular firms, monthly activity reports, and news releases relating to clients (the AFM, the Kansas Centennial, and the Florida Development Commission). Printed material consists of books (mostly legislative), magazines, pamphlets, articles, and clippings. Recordings consists of one record album with unspecified content.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically within each series.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Leyshon, Hal I.

Corporate Bodies

American Federation of Musicians.

Subjects

Public relations consultants -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Bills (legislative records)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Press releases.
Reports.

Occupations

Public relations consultants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hal I. Leyshon Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Leyshon, 1967.

Table of Contents

General files

Writings

Printed material

Recordings

Inventory