Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Al Liederman Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 24 Jul 1978

Biographical History

Al Liederman (1911-1992) was an American editorial cartoonist and comics artist.

Al Liederman was born September 26, 1911 and attended the Rochester Art Institute. He worked as an artist for the Rochester Journal American but left Rochester to work as the Syracuse Journal American's art director where he drew sports and editorial cartoons. Following his stint in Syracuse, Liederman drew cartoons for the Buffalo Evening News and the Akron Beacon Journal before ending up at the Long Island Press.

Liederman’s interest in several genres of cartooning led him to assist with various issues of Captain America and he is credited with contributing to some issues of Captain Marvel and other assorted comic book projects. He is believed to have worked on a daily strip, Madge the Badge for the Trans World News in the late 1970s. Liederman published a book of baseball cartoons entitled Li’l Leaguer in 1960.

He was a member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and the National Cartoonists Society. Al Liederman died December 5, 1992.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Al Liederman Cartoons consist of over 500 original drawings of editorial cartoons. The cartoons were created for the Long Island Press from 1964 until 1969. The cartoons are arranged chronologically and are foldered by month. Materials used include illustration board, graphite and ink.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Liederman, Al.

Corporate Bodies

Long Island Press (Jamaica, N.Y.)
United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- New York (N.Y.)
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Hồ, Chí Minh, 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Peace -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Russia -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Al Liederman Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Al Liederman, 1966-1970.

Table of Contents

Cartoons

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F=Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.