Collection inventory

---

---

Luigi Lucioni Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Revision history:
16 May 2007	converted to EAD (AMCon)
26 Oct 2012	extent revised (MBD)

Biographical History

Artist Luigi Lucioni, son of Angelo and Maria (Beati) Lucioni, was born in Malnate, Italy, on November 4, 1900. He came to the United States in 1911 and later studied at Cooper Union Art School (1916-1920) and the National Academy of Design (1920-1925). A painter of portraits and still lifes, he is famous for his lithographs of Vermont landscapes.

Mr. Lucioni is represented in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, Denver Art Museum, Nelson Gallery of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Nebraska State Capitol, Canajoharie Museum, Phillips Memorial Gallery (Andover, Massachusetts), Library of Congress, London's Victoria and Albert Museum, Williams College, New York Public Library, Carnegie Institute, Seattle Museum, Zaneville (Ohio) Museum, Dartmouth College, Hamilton College, and High Museum (Atlanta, Georgia).

He was awarded the Tiffany Medal, 1928; Allied Artists Medal of Honor, 1929; National Arts Club Prize for flower painting, 1939; First Popular Prize at Biennial, Washington, 1939, 1941, 1949; Purchase Prize, Library of Congress, 1946; First $1,000 prize, Second National Print Exhibition, New York, 1947; Purchase Prize N.A.D., 1959.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Luigi Lucioni Papers contains correspondence, original drawings, lithographic proofs, exhibition material, photographs of work, and printed material. The collection is divided into five series.

Correspondence is alphabetically arranged. Among the correspondents are Dwight D. Eisenhower and Mrs. (Frances) Henry Fonda.

Subject file consists of exhibitions in which Lucioni participated. There are 20 photographs of Lucioni's portraits, landscapes, and still lifes. Also included is a check stub of the Popular Prize won by Lucioni in 1939 as well as his statement when informed of the award.

Manuscripts and original drawings consists of nine oversize drawings, some of which are ink drawings as well as crayon and charcoal. The drawings are alphabetically arranged by title.

Proof before letter, consists of 237 proofs, dating from 192[ ] to 1965, pulled from individual plates etched by Luigi Lucioni. Many of these proofs are oversize. The proofs are alphabetically arranged by title.

Published material consists of an article, dated 1951, and clippings dated 1955 and 1957.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Lucioni, Luigi, 1900- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Etchers, United States.
Italian Americans.
Lithographers, United States.
Lithography, American, 20th century.
Painters, United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Exhibition catalogs.
Lithographs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Luigi Lucioni Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject file

Manuscripts

Proof before letter

Published material

Inventory