Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

W. Dean Mason Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: DCA
Date: Feb 1985

Revision history:
Aug 2008	Converted to EAD (MRC)

Biographical History

Wendell Dean Mason was an American educator, specializing in geriatrics and gerontology. He wrote or edited books and articles in his field, and was President of the National Geriatric Society.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. Dean Mason Papers contains material relating to gerontology, geriatrics, and nursing home administration with special emphasis on the Kennedy Memorial Christian Home in Martinsville, Indiana. Material includes correspondence, speeches, reports, newsletters, journals, surveys, press releases, clippings, memorabilia, and more. Organizations represented include the Adult Education Association, the National Council on Aging, the National Geriatric Society, and the Indiana Commission on Aging and Aged.

Arrangement of the Collection

The material remains in original order as received.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Mason, W. Dean -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Indiana. Commission on the Aging and Aged.
Kennedy Memorial Christian Home (Martinsville, Ind.)
National Council on the Aging.
National Geriatrics Society.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Geriatrics -- Research.
Geriatrics -- Study and teaching.
Nursing homes.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Newsletters.
Press releases.
Reports.
Speeches (documents)
Surveys (documents)

Occupations

Geriatricians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. Dean Mason Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. W. Dean Mason, 22 October 1982.

Table of Contents

Box list

Inventory