Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Mytton Maury Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: Jun 1999

Revision history:
4 Jan 2006	EAD file created (MRR)

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arranged alphabetically, the bulk of the Correspondence/subject files encompasses Dr. Maury's handwritten research notes, clippings, and correspondence relating to Maury's Manual of Geography (1892, 1894, and 1896 editions) and Maury's Physical Geography (1893 and 1894 editions) as well as notes for a proposed revision of Physical Geography of the Sea. The remainder of the collection also contains general research material and correspondence relating to a variety of geographical subjects. Copies of the published works, heavily annotated, are included in the collection.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Maury, Mytton, Archives

Associated Titles

Maury's Manual of Geography
Maury's Physical Geography
Physical Geography of the Sea

Subjects

Oceanography
Physical geography

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Marginalia.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mytton Maury Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased: 1992

Table of Contents

Correspondence / subject files

Inventory