Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Walter F. McCaleb Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DCA
Date: 3 Sep 1994

Biographical History

Walter Flavius McCaleb (1873-1967) was an American author of novels, plays, poetry, essays and non-fiction works regarding U.S. history.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter F. McCaleb Papers consists of material relating to his activities as an author of novels, plays, poetry, essays and non-fiction, with special emphasis on the Southwest, banking and finance in the U.S. and Mexico, and correspondence as an officer in the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. The collection contains autobiographical material, correspondence, writings (both published material and manuscripts), and memorabilia.

Autobiographical material contains autobiographical and genealogical material, student papers, family correspondence. Also included here are photographs, notes, and printed material relating to McCaleb's bicycle trip to Mexico in 1898.

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence of a non-family nature; some deals with McCaleb's political and business concerns. Correspondence relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt is foldered separately, as is McCaleb's correspondence with his publishers.

Writings consists of manuscripts, typescripts, and typescript copies for books (both fiction and non-fiction), essays, plays, poetry, and short stories.

Memorabilia includes lists of McCaleb's library holdings, newsletters from the Aaron Burr Association, tax receipts, printed material, clippings, notebooks, and other assorted items.

Published material contains books by McCaleb.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received only minimal processing. Items are listed in the inventory below in alphabetical order, but within the boxes material remains in the order it was received.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

McCaleb, Walter Flavius, 1873-1967.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.

Subjects

Authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walter F. McCaleb Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Autobiographical material

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

Inventory