Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Jerome E. Moberg Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: TK/DLC
Date: Mar 1994

Biographical History

Jerome E. Moberg (1913-1992) was an American industrial designer. Born in Jamestown, New York, the son of a metal worker, "Jerry" Moberg attended Alfred University, the University of Chicago, and Lawrence Technical College in Detroit. Winner of four Good Design Awards, he designed hundreds of commercial products, working primarily for Robeson Cutlery Company in Perry, New York. His cutlery work, which won numerous prizes, included household knives, tableware, hunting knives, and carving sets; it was exhibited at the Brussells Worlds Fair in 1958 and today is represented in museums in Boston, Chicago, and New York. In later years he also designed for Bush Brothers Inc., creating plastic and light metal bathroom fixtures for Sears and for motel chains.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jerome E. Moberg Papers has received only preliminary processing. The collection contains business records; personal papers, memorabilia, design publications, and advertising clipping files; and metal castings and various wooden, metal, or plastic product samples.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received only preliminary processing and remains in the original folders and original order. Business records are alphabetical by client, job, or subject, as received.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many important industrial designers, including Lurelle Guild, Arthur Pulos, Budd Steinhilber, Walter Dorwin Teague, John Vassos, and Russel Wright. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Moberg, Jerome E. (Jerome Emanuel), 1913-1993.

Subjects

Cutlery -- Design and construction.
Industrial design.
Industrial designers -- United States.
Interior decoration accessories -- Design and construction.
Kitchen utensils -- Design and construction.
Knives -- Design and construction.
Toys -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Castings.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Memorabilia.
Notebooks.
Samples.

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jerome E. Moberg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jerome E. Moberg.

Table of Contents

Business records

Personal papers

Models and product samples

Technical drawings, artwork, and miscellany

Inventory