Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Ross Moffett Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Apr 1994

Revision history:
16 Nov 2005	EAD file created (MRR)

Biographical History

American painter.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1916 to 1964, the Ross Moffett Papers comprises correspondence and memorabilia of the American painter. Focusing on Moffett's mural work for the Federal Art Project and the Eisenhower Foundation, the collection reflects the professional career of the Provinetown, MA artist.

Letters and a variety of printed material related to art projects and museum shows constitute Correspondence-Subject Files. Correspondence includes that with artists (Gerrit A. Beneker, Louis Bouché, Charles Burchfield, Julia Morrow DeForest, Marston Hodgin, Tod Lindenmuth, R.E. McCullough, Louis Orwig); curators (John Davis Hatch, Alexander J. Kostellow); museums (Carnegie Institute, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts); and professional organizations (National Academy of Design, Provincetown Art Association). Materials from the United States Treasury Department and the Eisenhower Foundation relate respectively to Moffett's post office murals in Holyoke and Sommerville, MA, and his presidential mural in Abilene, KS. Correspondence pertaining to the Committee for the Preservation of the Province Lands details Moffett's efforts to protect the boundaries of the National Sea Shore against commercialization.

Memorabilia consists of photographs, printed material, receipts, and writings by others. Photographs document a class at the Art Institute of Chicago, an exhibition in Provincetown, and two paintings by an unidentified artist. Clippings (1917-1961) and exhibition catalogs and invitations (1916-1945) constitute Printed material. Writings by others include a short history of Provincetown printmakers by Ada Gilmore Chaffee and exhibition notes by Tod Lindenmuth.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title or topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Beneker, Gerrit A. (Gerrit Albertus), 1882-1934.
Bouché, Louis, 1896-1969.
Burchfield, Charles, 1893-1967.
DeForest, Julie Morrow.
Hatch, John Davis.
Hodgin, Marston.
Kostellow, Alexander J.
Lindenmuth, Tod.
Moffett, Ross.
Orwig, Louise

Corporate Bodies

Eisenhower Foundation (Abilene, Kan.)
Federal Art Project.
Provincetown Art Association.

Subjects

Art and state.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Mural decoration and painting, American
Mural painting and decoration -- United States -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ross Moffett Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ross Moffett

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject Files

Memorabilia

Inventory