Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Frank Morigi Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: Aug 2011

Biographical History

Frank Morigi is an American interior design consultant and educator. He began his career in 1965 in Chicago with the firm of Norman R. DeHaan Associates, for whom he designed interiors for stores, restaurants, exhibit spaces and offices throughout the United States and Canada. He has taught at Southern Illinois University and at Syracuse University, where he was Professor of Interior Design and Chair of the Department of Design. Research projects, many of which involved his students, have included design studies for Haworth, the Juvenile Products Manufacturing Association, and the National Institute of Preservation of Cultural Properties. He has been a consultant for numerous state-funded historical preservation projects in Central New York.

He also has degrees in theatre from Carnegie-Mellon University and the Art Institute of Chicago, and has worked on sets, lighting and costumes for the Lyric Opera of Chicago and the St. Louis Municipal Opera, among other organizations.

Morigi has received numerous awards over his career, among them two Outstanding Teacher Awards from Syracuse University as well as that institution's Distinguished Professor Emeritus rank, the American Society of Interior Designers' Presidential Citation, and his students have received more than forty national and international student design awards from a wide range of industry and professional design organizations.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frank Morigi Papers consist of material relating to Morigi's work for Norman R. DeHaan Associates in Chicago, and to his teaching career at Syracuse University.

DeHaan Associates material contains specifications, articles, clippings and photographs relating to education, hotel/restaurant, office space and retail projects, most of them in and around Chicago, Illinois where the firm was based. Projects include Hyde Park High School and the O'Hare International Tower hotel.

Syracuse University material includes awards won by the department and its students; exhibit invitations for the NY Eleven student organization; historic preservation projects in and around Syracuse including the well-known Octagon House; newsletters, handouts and other items related to the Design Department, both past and present; research projects, many of which were adapted for class projects for graduate and undergraduate students; and material relating to two seminars offered by the department.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Morigi, Francis C.

Corporate Bodies

Norman R. DeHaan Associates.
Syracuse University. -- College of Visual and Performing Arts.

Subjects

Architecture -- Chicago Metropolitan Area.
Decoration and ornament, Architectural -- United States.
Historic buildings -- Conservation and restoration.
Hotels -- Design and construction.
Interior architecture -- United States.
Interior decoration -- United States.
Office layout.
Restaurants -- Design and construction.
Schools -- Design and construction.

Places

Chicago (Ill.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

College teachers.
Designers.
Interior decorators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frank Morigi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frank Morigi, 2011.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

DeHaan Associates

Syracuse University

Inventory