Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Robert Moses Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAK
Date: Sep 1979

Biographical History

As New York's controversial "master builder," Robert Moses played major role in molding the state's physical environment. He occupied a variety of state and city posts, including president of Long Island State Park Commission and chairman of State Council of Parks (1924-63), New York City parks commissioner (1943-60), chairman of New York State Power Authority (1954-63), and chairman of Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority (1954-63). Between 1924 and 1968, Moses developed public works costing $27 billion, including eleven bridges, 481 miles of highway, 658 playgrounds, seventy-five state parks, and such projects as Jones Beach, Shea Stadium, the United Nations, and Lincoln Center. He died in West Islip, New York in 1981. [from Current Biography Copyright (c) by The H. W. Wilson Company]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Moses Papers comprise one series: General files. These files are largely bound volumes, Reports, and brochures, magazine articles, speeches, and news clippings written by or about Robert Moses. They are arranged by year. Later articles and miscellaneous, 1967-1972, are not bound.

Many of these records deal with transportation improvements as well as other accomplishments in New York City. Robert Moses was also instrumental in the hydroelectric power programs in New York State and there are papers concerning power plants at Niagara Falls and Messena.

Also included throughout the collection are copies of Moses' Newsday newspaper column and several articles of correspondence with George Zabriskie.

Notice: The material in this collection may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, U. S. Code).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Moses, Robert, 1888-1891.

Corporate Bodies

Power Authority of the State of New York.
Triborough Bridge Authority.

Subjects

City planners -- United States.
City planning -- New York (State) -- New York.
Hydroelectric power plants -- New York (State) -- Messena.
Hydroelectric power plants -- New York (State) -- Niagara Falls.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Reports.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

City planners.
Transportation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Moses Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

General files

Inventory