Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Office of Price Stabilization Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1970

Biographical History

The Office of Price Stabilization (1950-1953), also known as the Price Stabilization Board, was a federal agency tasked with controlling prices during the Korean War. A Director of Price Stabilization was named in late 1950 and the OPS was formally established in January of 1951. Through its 14 regional and about 90 district offices, the OPS obtained voluntary compliance with measures to stabilize prices and established and administered price regulations.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Office of Price Stabilization Records contain general files and published material.

General files includes lists of stores and industries in Syracuse and the surrounding area that produce goods or provide services covered by the OPS mandate. There is also some business correspondence and miscellaneous material.

Published material contains several volumes of government publications and correspondence.

Arrangement of the Collection

General files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Published material is subdivided by type (books, pamphlets, volumes) and arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Records of the Office of Price Stabilization (1947-1955), held by the National Archives. A description is available online at http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/295.html

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Office of Price Stabilization.
United States. -- War Price & Rationing Board.

Subjects

Commodity control -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Commodity control -- United States.
Price regulation -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Price regulation -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Administrative regulations.
Correspondence.
Lists.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Progress reports.
Public records.
Regulations (executive records)

Occupations

Price regulation.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Office of Price Stabilization Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

General files

Published material

Inventory