Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Graeme O'Geran Presidential Autograph Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Jan 2010

Biographical History

Graeme O'Geran was a Professor of Economics in the Maxwell School of Public Affairs and Citizenship at Syracuse University.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Graeme O'Geran Presidential Autograph Collection contains signed documents, letters or photographs from the first 41 presidents of the United States (from Washington to George H. W. Bush).

Also in the collection are a few autographs of miscellaneous other individuals; notable here is a group photo of Henry Ford, Thomas Edison, and Harvey Firestone, signed by all three men.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is in chronological order of their presidency.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other collections of autographs. See for example the following:

Argosy Autograph Collection
Frances Ward Harrington Autograph Collection
Howes Norris, Jr. Autograph Cartoon Collection
Gordon N. Ray Collection of Victorian Autographs
Fremont Rider Autograph Collection

Subject Headings


Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848.
Adams, John, 1735-1826.
Arthur, Chester Alan, 1829-1886.
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868.
Bush, George, 1924-
Carter, Jimmy, 1924-
Cleveland, Grover, 1837-1908.
Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Fillmore, Millard, 1800-1874.
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006.
Garfield, James A. (James Abram), 1831-1881.
Grant, Ulysses S. (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885.
Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923.
Harrison, Benjamin, 1833-1901.
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841.
Hayes, Rutherford B., 1822-1893.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845.
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826.
Johnson, Andrew, 1808-1875.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.
Madison, James, 1749-1812.
Monroe, James, 1758-1831.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.
Pierce, Franklin, 1804-1869.
Polk, James K. (James Knox), 1795-1849.
Reagan, Ronald.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.
Taft, William H. (William Howard), 1857-1930.
Taylor, Zachary, 1784-1850.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972.
Tyler, John, 1790-1862.
Van Buren, Martin, 1782-1862.
Washington, George, 1732-1799.
Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924.


Autographs -- Collections.
Inventors -- Autographs.
Presidents of the United States -- Autographs.

Genres and Forms


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Graeme O'Geran Presidential Autograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Graeme O'Geran, 1990, 1991.

Table of Contents

Presidential autographs