Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Edward G. O'Neill Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Dec 1966

Biographical History

Edward G. O'Neill (1894-1972) was a New York State lawyer and assistant state attorney general.

Born in Brooklyn, New York, O'Neill received his A. B. from Michigan University and his LLB from Fordham. He served in France during World War I, receiving a Purple Heart and the Croix de Guerre. He received his law degree in 1921 from Fordham University and was admitted to the New York State bar the same year. He practiced in Brooklyn until 1939 when he was appointed assistant attorney general for the state of New York; he later served as special judge of the Orange County (NY) Court, special prosecutor of local officials of the Hod Carriers Union Local 17, and special U.S. Attorney to investigate graft in the construction of Camp Shanks in Orangeburg.

After his retirement from the law, O'Neill was an active participant in the social and civic life of Newburgh, New York, where among other things he was an organizer of the Newburgh Tax Commission and president of the Newburgh Chamber of Commerce.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward G. O'Neill Papers consist of two sets of material which have not been integrated.

The 1966 set contains correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence (1931-1943) includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence. There is also a correspondence book of incoming and outgoing letters arranged chronologically. Subject files (1941-1943) contains material on topics ranging from labor to Orange County investigations. Manuscripts consists of scripts for radio broadcasts. Published material contains news clippings about O'Neill and others.

The 1979 set contains a single series of Subject files, comprising legal documents, speeches, clippings, correspondence, blueprints, and other material.

Arrangement of the Collection

1966 set: Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author; outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts (radio scripts) are arranged chronologically.

1979 set: Single series, arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

O'Neill, Edward G.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Attorney General's Office.

Subjects

Lawyers -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Radio scripts.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Special prosecutors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward G. O'Neill Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward G. O'Neill, 1967.

Table of Contents

Correspondence (1966)

Subject files (1966)

Manuscripts (1966)

Published Material (1966)

Subject files (1979)

Inventory