Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Alice Beal Parsons Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: 27 Sep 1979

Biographical History

Alice Beal Parsons (1886-1962) was an American author, novelist, social worker and feminist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alice Beal Parsons Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, printed material, published material, and writings.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing mail, including a typed signed letter from Clarence Darrow.

Memorabilia contains a typescript of a court case in which Mr. Darrow was involved, a typescript of Mrs. Parsons' great-grandmother's journal, and a report card for Laura Parsons.

Photographs contains a small number of personal photographs.

Printed material contains publicity material and radio scripts.

Published material contains clippings concerning Parsons' work as well as a personal biography entitled Forever What We Wish, by Helen Bryant.

Writings contains many of her published articles as well as numerous typescripts of both books and short stories.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, as are book reviews in whatever series they appear. All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Several articles by Parson are available on the Harper's Magazine website at http://www.harpers.org/subjects/AliceBealParsons.

Subject Headings

Persons

Parsons, Alice Beal, 1886-1962.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Feminists -- United States.
Women authors, American.
Women novelists, American.
Women social workers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Autobiographies (literary works)
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Feminists.
Novelists.
Social workers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alice Beal Parsons Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Photographs

Printed material

Published material

Writings

Inventory