Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Drew Pearson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Aug 1967

Biographical History

Columnist and radio and television commentator Drew Pearson (Andrew Russell) was born in Evanston, Illinois on December 13, 1897. He was educated at the Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, and Swarthmore College in Swarthmore, Pennsylvania where he received an A.B. degree in 1919.

Mr. Pearson was the director of the American Friends Service Commission in Serbia, Montenegro and Albania from 1919-1921, an instructor in industrial geography at the University of Pennsylvania and he also lectured on American, Australian and New Zealand chautaquas before he began his career as a commentator. He was the United States delegate to the Atlantic Conference in 1959, he has interviewed many important Europeans and he holds foreign decorations. His publications include Washington Merry-Go-Round (1931), The American Diplomatic Game (1935), and The Nine Old Men.

He is presently (August, 1967) farming in Rockville, Maryland when he is not writing his daily newspaper column, The Washington Merry Go-Round. Mr. Pearson belongs to the Overseas Press Club, the National Press Club, the Overseas Writers' Club and the Cosmos Club of Washington. He has been married twice and is maintaining a residence in Washington, D.C.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of Papers and Press releases.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged within series chronologically. At least two separate accessions are represented with duplicate box numbers.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Pearson, Drew, 1897-1969.

Subjects

Journalism.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989.

Genres and Forms

Newspaper columns.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Drew Pearson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Papers

Press releases

Inventory