Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

George Peck Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: 11 Oct 1979

Biographical History

George Peck (1797-1876) was an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary, a Methodist-supported school in Madison County, New York. Through his daughter Mary, he is the grandfather of American novelist and poet Stephen Crane.

Born on August 8, 1797 in Middlefield, New York, Peck was associated with the Methodist Episcopal Church throughout his life. He married Mary Myers on June 10, 1819 and the couple had five children: George Myers, Luther W., Mary, William Fletcher (died aged 7 months), and Wilbur Frank. Peck received his A.M. degree from Wesleyan University in 1835 and a D.D. from August College in 1840. He became president of Cazenovia Seminary in 1835, and was also the editor of the Methodist Quarterly Review and the New York Advocate. He died in Scranton, Pennsylvania on May 20, 1876.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Peck Papers consists of correspondence, financial material, memorabilia, miscellanea, published material, and writings.

Correspondence (1793-1878) includes personal, financial and business letters. Financial material (1823-1876) consists mainly of receipts. Memorabilia contains such articles as eyeglasses and a stereoscope card of Peck Hall. Published material consists of advertisements, clippings, and copies of Methodist Quarterly Review and The Ladies' Repository. Writings includes a set of diaries from 1852-1875, as well as articles, sermons and reports pertaining to the Methodist Episcopal Church for which Peck worked.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and financial material are arranged chronologically. Memorabilia, published material, anmd writings are arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to Methodist church and clergy. For a complete listing of manuscript collections please refer to the SCRC Subject Index . For a complete listed of published material (monographs, periodicals, broadsides, etc.) please refer to Libraries Search .

Subject Headings

Persons

Peck, George, 1797-1876.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Episcopal Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Educators -- United States.
Methodists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies (literary works)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Financial records.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Peck Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Financial papers

Memorabilia

Miscellaneous

Published material

Writings

Inventory