Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Paul Lachlan Peck Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 Mar 2010

Biographical History

Paul Lachlan Peck is an American spiritual metaphysical author, speaker and counselor.

Born in Glens Falls, New York, Peck holds a BA. Degree in Marketing from the University of Connecticut, a M.Ed. degree in high school administration from Westfield State College, Westfield, MA and a Th.D. (Hon) from Bernadean University in Nevada. Prior to entering the full-time ministry, Reverend Peck served as Vice President of Syracuse University, Fairleigh Dickinson University and Manhattan College (Bronx) over a period of fifteen years. While at Syracuse (1960-1970) he served on the Chaplains’ Council of the University and as a volunteer Chaplain at Auburn State Prison for one year, and was the University's first full-time director of deferred giving programs. He was ordained by the Truth Center of California in 1972, and knighted by the international charitable Order of Sts. John of Jerusalem, Knights of Malta for his many years of service to youth in the area of drug abuse and sui­cide prevention. He has appeared on radio and television and is the author of numerous books, articles, essays, sermons and New Age hymns.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Lachlan Peck Papers consists entirely of Peck's writings -- articles, books, essays, sermons, New Age hymns, and other items. The items are typed, organized thematically, and bound into twelve volumes. Some, such as Volumes IX and XII, have been commercially published; the published version may or may not be identical to the manuscript versions in this collection.

Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volumes, as organized thematically by the donor.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Peck also donated to the library his extensive collection of 20th century literature, including authors such as Taylor Caldwell, Mary Renault, and R. F. Delderfield. These items have been cataloged. Please refer to the Classic Catalog, and search on the phrase "Gift of Rev. Paul Lachlan Peck" to locate these items.

Subject Headings

Persons

Peck, Paul Lachlan.

Corporate Bodies

Arete Truth Center.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Conduct of life.
Gender identity -- Personal accounts.
Jesus Christ -- New Age movement interpretations.
New Age movement.
Spiritual life -- New Age movement.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies (literary works)
Essays.
Hymns.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Lachlan Peck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul Lachlan Peck, 2004-2006.

Table of Contents

Writings

Inventory