Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Richard Petrow Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DB
Date: Mar 1978

Biographical History

Richard Petrow was an American author. Much of his writing focused on some aspect of marine stewardship, including shrimping, boating, arctic seas, and oil spills.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Petrow Papers consists of correspondence and writings. The majority of the collection is research notes for his book The Black Tide, which deals with the 1967 wreck of the tanker Torrey Canyon and the ensuing oil spill on the coasts of Cornwall (England) and Brittany (France).

The collection begins with a small amount of Correspondence. Writings includes notes, galleys, proofs, and research material relating to articles, books, and scripts written by Petrow. The majority concerns The Black Tide, but there is also material from his book Across the Top of Russia, about the cruise of the U.S. Coast Guard ship Northwind into the polar seas north of Siberia.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title of work.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Petrow, Richard -- Archives.
Petrow, Richard. Across the top of Russia.
Petrow, Richard. Black tide.

Corporate Bodies

Torrey Canyon (Ship)

Subjects

Authors, American.
Oil spills, Environmental aspects.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Galley proofs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Petrow Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Inventory