Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Willard Price Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 22 Mar 2010

Biographical History

Willard Price (1887-1983) was a Canadian-born American natural historian and author of children's fiction.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Willard Price Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, and writings.

Biographical materital contains clippings about Price and his list of his publications.

Correspondence is both incoming and outgoing. Correspondents include friends, editors, librarians, and so on; several are from readers of his books expressing. One, to University of California-Riverside, expressed his disbelief that they are offering a course on astrology and numerology; another laments that his books have to "live down the ill repute of such series as the Horatio Alger books.

Writings make up the bulk of the collection. It contains manuscripts, galleys, and published editions of many of Price's books, and a folder of assorted items attached to typed notes by Price giving his thoughts on them.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are subdivided by type and within that arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Price, Willard, 1887-1983.

Subjects

Children's literature.
Exotic animals.
Travel writing.
Travelers' writings.

Places

Africa -- Description and travel.
Amazon River -- Description and travel.
England -- Description and travel.
Japan -- Description and travel.
South America -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Willard Price Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Willard Price.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Writings

Inventory