Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

William F. Raborn Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 21 Nov 1978

Revision history:
25 Apr 2010	converted to EAD (MRC)

Biographical History

William F. Raborn, Jr. (1905-1990) was a career military officer, a Navy vice admiral who led the development of the Polaris nuclear missile in the 1950s and later headed the Central Intelligence Agency under President Lyndon B. Johnson.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William F. Raborn Papers consist of correspondence, general files, personal files and memorabilia. Correspondence is made up of such communiques as sympathy letters, orders, and letters of congratulation. General files consists of material relating to Raborn's Navy career. Personal files is made up of non-career material. Memorabilia contains awards, photographs, tape recordings, and a navigation instrument.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Raborn, William F., 1905-1990.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- History.
United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Admirals -- United States.

Places

United States -- History, Naval -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Admirals.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William F. Raborn Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

General files

Personal files

Memorabilia

Inventory