Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Religious Broadcasters Interview Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 2001

Biographical History

With funding from the Lilly Foundation Syracuse University undertook a project to conduct and videotape oral interviews from significant or influential religious media figures. Interviews were conducted in 2000 and 2001.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Religious Broadcasters Interview Collection consists of 30 videotaped Interviews with religious broadcasters. Interviewees include Jim Bakker, televangelist and Assemblies of God minister; Christian musician Ralph Carmichael; Paul Crouch, co-founder and president of the Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN); Rabbi Boruch Shlomo Cunin, director of Chabad-Lubavitch activities on the West Coast; Alberto Cutié, host of the religious talk show Padre Alberto; Rex Humbard, televangelist and host of Cathedral of Tomorrow; Pamela Ilott, director of religious broadcasting for CBS; Al-Haaj Ghazi Khankan, executive director of the Council on American Islamic Relations; Ben Kinchlow, Christian radio and television talk-show host; Pat Robertson, televangelist, founder of Christian Broadcasting Network, and host of The 700 Club; John Spong, former Bishop of Newark; and Elizabeth Thoman, founder of Media&Values magazine and the Center for Media and Values.

The collection also contains Masters (mini-DV video cassette) and Audio versions (audiocassette) for most, but not all, of the interviews. Transcripts consists of typed transcripts of most, but not all, of the interviews.

Arrangement of the Collection

U-matic, Betacam-SP, and VHS tapes of interviews are boxed in no particular order; to simplify locating a given interview the inventory below lists them in alphabetical order by interviewee. Mini-DV masters and audio versions of video interviews are labelled but loose in the box, while transcripts are foldered in alphabetical order. Formats available for a given interview vary.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Special Collections Research Center has a number of broadcast media-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing

Subject Headings

Persons

Armstrong, Richard N., 1945-
Bakker, Jim, 1940-
Carmichael, Ralph, 1927-
Clarke, David E.
Cooke, Phil.
Crouch, Paul F., Sr. (Paul Franklin), 1934-2013.
Cunin, Boruch Shlomo.
Cutié Bressler, Alberto.
Fore, William F.
Humbard, Rex, 1919-2007.
Ilott, Pamela.
Khankan, Al-Haaj Ghazi Y.
Kinchlow, Ben, 1936-
McClurken, D.W.
McSweeney, Thomas J.
Moss, James, 1926-2001.
Pomeroy, David W.
Price, Nelson L.
Robertson, Pat.
Rose, Jerry K.
Schuller, Robert H. (Robert Harold), 1926-2015.
Spong, John Shelby.
Sweeney, Terrance A.
Thoman, Elizabeth, Sister.

Subjects

Radio broadcasting -- Religious aspects.
Radio in religion.
Religious broadcasters -- United States -- Interviews.
Television broadcasting -- Religious aspects.
Television in religion.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Audiotapes.
Betacam-SP.
Interviews.
Mini-DV.
Sound recordings.
Transcripts.
U-matic.
VHS.
Videotapes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Religious Broadcasters Interview Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Generated by Syracuse University, 2000-2001.

Table of Contents

Interviews

Masters

Audio versions

Transcripts

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.