Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jul 2010

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the donor of this material.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings consists of personal (i.e. non-commercial) recordings of various opera performances on standard audiocassettes. Many of the recordings are from the Metropolitan Opera but there are also performances from the Bayreuth Festival, the Chicago Lyric Opera, the Syracuse Symphony and unspecified performances in London. Many, but not all, of the tapes are annotated with the names of the major performers.

There are also a few recordings of speakers on religious subjects at Jesuit gatherings.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by composer.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to tapes requires advance notice for creation of use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Callas, Maria, 1923-1977.
Christoff, Boris.

Corporate Bodies

Bayreuther Festspiele.
Lyric Opera of Chicago.
Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Operas -- Sound recordings.
Operas -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Sound recordings.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anita Reschke.

Table of Contents

Audiorecordings

Inventory