Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Theodore Roscoe Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: JOD
Date: 10 Dec 1992

Biographical History

Theodore Roscoe was an American author of the "pulp" era, known for his adventure and mystery stories as well as naval history. In addition to books (both fiction and nonfiction), his stories appeared in magazines such as Adventure, Argosy, and Weird Tales.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore Roscoe Papers comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia that span Roscoe's entire career.

Correspondence (Box 1) spans the years 1926 to 1992. Roscoe corresponded with editors, publishers, colleagues, fans, and the U.S. Department of the Navy.

Writings (Boxes 2-12) includes Roscoe's fiction and non-fiction as well as notebooks, reviews, and scripts. Fiction (Boxes 2-4) includes manuscript drafts, manuscripts, and some printed examples of his adventure and mystery stories, which were written for pulp magazines. Non-fiction (Boxes 4-10) contains manuscript drafts, manuscripts and published work, much of which pertains to the history of the U.S. Navy. Scripts (Box 10-12) include manuscript draft and manuscript dramatizations of some of Roscoe's fictional work.

Memorabilia (Boxes 12-13) comprises financial material, printed material, and scrapbooks. Printed material consists of books that were owned by Roscoe, clippings about Roscoe or those which contained Story ideas, publicity, and reviews. Many of the scrapbooks pertain to his writings an naval history.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Roscoe, Theodore.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- History.
United States. -- Navy -- Submarine forces.

Subjects

Adventure and adventurers in literature.
Adventure stories, American -- 20th century.
American fiction -- 20th century.
Authors, American -- 20th century.
Detective and mystery stories, American -- 20th century.
Fiction -- Male authors -- United States -- 20th century.
Historians -- United States -- 20th century.
Naval history -- United States.
Naval history, Modern -- United States -- 20th century.
Popular literature -- United States.
War and literature -- United States -- 20th century.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Naval operations -- American.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Naval operations -- Submarine.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Histories.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore Roscoe Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Theodore Roscoe, 1965, 1967. Gift of Mrs. Theodore Roscoe, 1992.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory